Skip to content

The true end of autumn

November 8, 2012

Some people might have punched the time clock on the end of autumn back on October 6, when we got an appreciable amount of snow.

Not me.

It was too soon.

But with the darkness closing ever-closer in the evening, and the weather predicted to hit lows of 13 and 10 degrees Saturday and Sunday nights, I finally had to admit that my favorite season is ending.

I called a company to come blow the water out of my underground sprinkler lines.

Front yard Olde Faithful.

I harvested the very last of the garden produce. (Broccoli is hardy stuff!)

Autumn honeybees were enjoying some of my broccoli blossoms.

And I traded shorts for sweaters on my closet shelves.

Time to find a steaming cup of tea, a blanket, and a good book and accept that winter had arrived.

Copyright 2012 by Katie Bradshaw

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

