Skip to content

The beauty in transience

October 7, 2016

We got our first killing freeze of the season last night in western Nebraska. In some parts of town, there was fog, too. I dropped Bugman off at work at the Panhandle Extension and Research Center this morning, and I’m grateful I did. The sharp end-of-season transition combined with the fog created a frozen wonderland in the D.A. Murphy Panhandle Arboretum.

img_0551

img_0534

img_0544

img_0546

img_0606

img_0612

img_0628

img_0584

img_0586

img_0580

img_0561

img_0565

I could have stayed there all morning, appreciating the frosted, sparkling blossoms, but the progress of the autumn sun into the sky brought a melting warmth.

img_0578

img_0624

The way the sun shone through the flowers on their last morning in their present form filled me with an emotion that does not have a name in English. The closest I could get is the Japanese

もののあわれ

pronounced like “moh-noh  noh  ah-wah-ray,” which translates something like “awareness of impermanence, or transience of things, and both a transient gentle sadness (or wistfulness) at their passing as well as a longer, deeper gentle sadness about this state being the reality of life.”

This is one of the reasons autumn is my favorite season. Without death, how can we truly appreciate life?

Copyright 2016 by Katie Bradshaw

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ann permalink
    October 8, 2016 1:46 pm

    I am thankful to have found your blog, your photos are gorgeous. Perhaps the word “bittersweet” comes close to describing the feeling you discuss, although it has always felt less like a gentle word.

    • October 8, 2016 1:49 pm

      I’m glad you found it too. I’m grateful to have the chance to share the beauty I captured that day.

  2. Sheron Dinnel permalink
    October 21, 2016 12:48 pm

    Such gorgeous pictures, Katie! I’m so thankful that I ran across your blog and look forward to receiving your future writings!

    • October 21, 2016 1:08 pm

      Glad I was there that day and able to capture these images to share them. Thanks for following my blog!

Leave a Reply

