Skip to content

A source for western Nebraska race info

March 7, 2016

This year, I thought I would train for a spring half marathon, but since I can’t yet manage to run a 5K without stopping for walk breaks and a nasty cold has put me even further behind, I think I will probably scrub that goal. Instead, to provide motivation to stay active, I’d like to set a goal to run every local race I can.

I started off my fitness campaign with the Mardi Gras 5K on February 21.

IMG_8283

What’s that? You never heard about this race?

I’m not surprised. It’s been difficult to find a comprehensive source of race information here in western Nebraska.

When I lived in Iowa, I checked the Fitness Sports race website page often for local running race information – it’s a great resource for races all over the state. Here in western Nebraska, I tried to maintain a similar list on the Western Wind Running Club Facebook page, but it was difficult to keep up with, since there wasn’t a great information pipeline and few other page users helped to update the document. Also, if you weren’t a Facebook user accepted into the group, you couldn’t see the information.

That’s why I’m ever so glad the Monument Marathon has added a local race page to its website. I learned about the page from a Star-Herald article, where the marathon race director suggested that these local races could even become part of a series leading up to the Monument Marathon in the fall.

There’s a clear contact link at the top of the Monument Marathon Nebraska Panhandle Races page (under Race Info>Regional Races) for submitting information on races, and the page is accessible to anyone with an Internet connection.

For this webpage to become a success, it needs to be publicized widely so that anyone organizing a race will know to submit their info and so anyone looking for a race to run will know where to go.

If you are interested in seeing this project succeed, please help get the word out and share the page with runners and race organizers: http://www.monumentmarathon.com/#!regional-races/ofw8o.

Copyright 2016 by Katie Bradshaw

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 7, 2016 11:14 am

    Reblogged this on Wyobraska Tandem and commented:

    There’s now a webpage dedicated to collecting information about running races in western Nebraska – on the Monument Marathon site. Great idea!

Leave a Reply

