Skip to content

Legacy of the Plains 2015 Christmas tree contest

December 22, 2015

Finally! I can write about the Christmas tree decorating contest at the museum and be totally biased about my favorite trees, since I’m not the museum director anymore! 🙂

But first – have YOU gone over to Legacy of the Plains Museum and voted? The tree decorating contest is a fundraiser – a 50/50 split of each vote ticket goes to the museum and to the organizations that have set up trees, and the top vote-getters win additional prizes.

Get thee to the museum (2930 Old Oregon Trail in Gering) PRONTO, before noon tomorrow (December 23, 2015)!!! I really love this contest, and it has become a personal tradition to go admire and vote on the trees.

Here’s a sure-fire way to find the museum: look for Santa harvesting gifts with an Allis-Chalmers two-row corn picker. (I love this!!! So fun!!)

santa harvesting gifts allis chalmers two row picker

Now, back to my favorites . . .

I am, of course, partial to the Western Nebraska Bicycling Club tree, which I helped decorate.

WNBC tree

The WNBC tree is right in the museum lobby. Just look for the tricycle. 🙂

paper bike chain

Detail includes a paper bike chain (in hi-viz safety colors) . . . (Many thanks to London cycling/coffee shop Look Mum No Hands for the pattern.)

bike chain ornament

. . . and ornaments made from recycled bicycle chain (as well as “spokecicles”) . . .

bike gear tree topper

. . . topped off by a bike gear star . . .

bike gifts

. . . with bike-themed wrapped gifts under the tree, atop hi-viz safety vests . . .

WNBC bike safety lights

. . . and “lifesaver” safety tips – feel free to take one!

Yep. Definitely my favorite. Do me a solid and go vote for this tree, will you?

My second favorite this year: the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services adoption and foster care program. I give this tree high marks for theme (since Gru of the Minions movies adopted some kiddos) and for creativity (gotta love the unique, individually-made toilet-paper-tube ornaments). I do not, however, give high marks to my blurry cell-phone-camera images. Sorry about that!

DHHS tree

Love the Santa Gru tree topper!

DHHS tree adoption gru

minion ornament

Homemade toilet-paper-tube Minion ornaments! Squeee!

Tied for third place in my book: the trees for Los Guadalupanos Folkloric Dancers and the Dome Rockers Questers.

los guadalupanos tree

A tree with personality – and a mustache!!

dome rockers

The Dome Rockers pushed all the right nostaligia buttons here – Christmas cookies are a tradition in my family. And then the folding stepstool chair for a vote ticket platform! Totally brought me back to my grandma’s kitchen!

There are many other worthy trees and organizations represented at the museum this year. Hurry! Go check them out before voting ends tomorrow noon, December, 23!

Copyright 2015 by Katie Bradshaw

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

