Skip to content

Updates on downtown Scottsbluff open house post

June 4, 2015

Hi, folks.

Well, my post yesterday on the downtown Scottsbluff plaza open house has been getting a lot of attention and sparked several conversations.

And I’ve also learned a few new things and added a couple of clarifications to my original post, which I will continue to do, so the post is as accurate as possible. (Well, to the extent that it doesn’t become too messy, anyway.)

If you already read the original post and don’t want to wade through it again, here were my updates:

UPDATE: if you have comments on the project, here is the email, so you can send them, too: scottsbluffplaza@mcschaff.com

UPDATE: I didn’t spend enough time at the ice rink station, apparently. I missed that the idea is for a “synthetic ice” rink, which requires a lot less money for operation and is not dependent on climate, because no refrigeration system is needed. I found a recent news story from Albuquerque, New Mexico, describing the city’s decision to install a large synthetic ice rink after a test run with a small rink last year showed it was very popular with regional residents.

UPDATE: I completely missed an idea with this indoor activity center – to install playground equipment, so there would be year-round access to playground equipment, as well as an outdoor connection when the weather is nice. Another possibility: a couple of attached rental rooms, which would be perfect for kid party rentals.

UPDATE: I’ve heard there are plans in the works to have additional public meetings – what do you think might work, as far as timing and location? Also, I probably came across as more cynical than I meant to by my use of the term “the usual suspects.” It’s just that I tend to see the same people over and over again at planning meetings for happenings and projects in the community. Not a surprise, really – I think it’s a common problem: how do you get people to take time out of their busy lives and get actively involved in community projects?

UPDATE: After all that, I realized I forgot to mention in this this post that I am really excited about this project, and I see the plaza development as part of the continued improvement of the downtown that makes me love it even more.

Copyright 2015 by Katie Bradshaw

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

