Skip to content

Downtown Scottsbluff plaza open house

June 1, 2015

I’m personally invested in downtown Scottsbluff.

The vibrant Broadway business district was partly why Bugman and I bought the house we did – we wanted to be within walking distance of all the shops, restaruants and events in the downtown. I started paying attention to downtown revitalization projects five years ago, pretty much right after I moved to town.

I’ll be attending another meeting tomorrow, Tuesday, June 2, sometime between 4-6 p.m. at the Midwest Theater. It’s an open house to present and gather feedback on potential design options for a plaza at 18th Street, between Broadway and 1st Avenue, the current location of the downtown farmers market (which starts this coming weekend, BTW – yay!!).

I’m very excited about the development of this plaza. A public space like this can bring so many benefits to the community. It can help anchor downtown events and provide a space where people from different walks of life can mingle.

Here’s an artist’s conception of one possible future of the plaza area, screenshotted from an article in the Star-Herald about the meeting:

Screen Shot 2015-05-30 at 12.43.56 PM

Aerial view of conceptual downtown Scottsbluff plaza design, looking west-southwest, toward Broadway.

A couple of quotes from city planner Annie Folck from the above-linked Star-Herald article:

Even if people can just stop in for 10 minutes, we’d like to hear from them.

We want to get a feel for what people feel are the most important features and gauge how much interest there is in the public.

Will I see you at the open house?

Copyright 2015 by Katie Bradshaw

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jon Wilson permalink
    June 1, 2015 9:36 am

    Hi Katie,

    Just a note to tell you I enjoy your SCB Citizen pieces. I’m an old (I do mean old!) Scottsbluff resident. Our family moved to Florida in the 1950s after several generations in the North Platte Valley, but I’ve continued to follow developments in the area and read the Star-Herald on line. Interesting to see the action on Broadway. all best, Jon Wilson St. Petersburg, FL

    • June 1, 2015 9:58 am

      Hi, Jon. Thanks so much for the note. It’s often a mystery to me where all my page views come from!

  2. June 2, 2015 9:20 am

    Hi Katie…it was good to see you last Saturday and also I will be at the Open House for sure. I personally am a big supporter of this project and WNAC is as well. We are looking forward to the possibilities this will bring to the community. I think it will also tie the Arts Center more to downtown and that is exciting for us!

    • June 2, 2015 10:01 am

      Good to see you, too, Donna. I’ve not been to too many WNAC events lately. Maybe I’ll bump into you today!

Leave a Reply

