Skip to content

A rainy hike at SBNM

May 6, 2015

I didn’t let a little rain dissuade me from hiking Scotts Bluff National Monument this morning – I just put on my rain gear, and off I went.

It’s beautiful in a gentle rain.

Eagle Rock in the mist.

Eagle Rock in the mist. The low clouds were swirling and breaking around the edifice. Quite hypnotic.

A wet dandelion seed tuft

A wet dandelion seed tuft

Water droplets on greenery. I tried to take all sorts of pictures of water droplets on greenery, but . . . cell phone camera focus fail . . . sigh. This picture was actually supposed to be of a flower. I need to start taking my regular camera with me on my hikes.

Water droplets on greenery. I tried to take all sorts of pictures of water droplets on greenery, but . . . cell phone camera focus fail . . . sigh. This picture was actually supposed to be of a flower. I need to start taking my regular camera with me on my hikes.

Saddle Rock Trail in the mist.

Saddle Rock Trail in the mist.

Saddle Rock itself, in the mist

Saddle Rock itself, in the mist

A spotted towhee was unfazed by the rain. Its song piping through the sound of rainfall was soul-soothing. Too bad the flashy black-and-white-and-rust of its plumage doesn't show in the photo.

A spotted towhee was unfazed by the rain. Its song piping through the sound of rainfall was soul-soothing. Too bad the flashy black-and-white-and-rust of its plumage doesn’t show in the photo. I also saw a couple of magpies and, I believe, a western kingbird. On a previous day, I believe I saw a McCown’s longspur. I may need to start taking my binoculars along on hikes, too.

Not everything was misty and muted. Wildflowers refused to let their colors be tamed.

Tufted milkvetch

Tufted milkvetch

narrowleaf penstemon

narrowleaf penstemon

Lovely death camas

Lovely death camas

The clouds began breaking up over the valley and town below. It all looked so green!

The clouds began breaking up, spilling morning sunlight over the valley and town below. It all looked so green!

Copyright 2015 by Katie Bradshaw

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Arlene Wise permalink
    May 6, 2015 6:36 pm

    Your photos are just stunning! I guess Spring in Western Nebraska is a treat.
    Arlene

    • May 6, 2015 6:38 pm

      Oh, it is, Arlene! Especially for someone who grew up in the Chicago area. It’s much drier here than what I’m used to, and I’m comforted by the sound of springtime rain on the roof. One downfall – there’s a lot more hail here than what I’m used to.

Leave a Reply

