Skip to content

Thanks for the suggestion, SBNM

February 9, 2015

Yesterday, someone at Scotts Bluff National Monument posted the following on their Facebook page:

Screen Shot 2015-02-08 at 8.16.11 AM“Come and enjoy the park.”

Well, since they suggested it . . . okay!

It’d been ages since I’d hiked up the bluff.

It was time!

Bugman and I chased our shadows up the Saddle Rock path.

Bugman and I chased our late afternoon shadows up the Saddle Rock path.

I kind of forgot how steep the path gets on that one section just after the bench. It’s a good workout.

It reminded me of the time Bugman and I were in Queensland, Australia, back in 2004, hiking up the Mount Beerburrum trail in the Glass House Mountains.

The Mount Beerburrum trail is a bit steeper than Saddle Rock Trail at Scotts Bluff, rising about 530 feet in about 0.4 miles, as compared to our local ~460 feet in about 1.6 miles.

I recall that as we were huffing and puffing up the Mount Beerburrum slope, a woman pushing a baby jogger passed us – la la la – as easy as you please. I felt like such a wuss, but I reminded myself, “She probably does this every day. I’m a flatlander tourist. I have an excuse.”

Welllll . . . I can’t really use that excuse anymore, now that I have this fabulous natural training facility right in my community. I better get my butt out there more often, so the tourists don’t pass me by – la la la – and bruise my delicate ego.

A comparison:

A two-shot panorama of the view from Mount Beerrum.

A two-shot film panorama of the view from atop Mount Beerburrum.

We watched as the shadow of the bluff extended over town.

A view of the shadow of Scotts Bluff creeping over town.

Chimney Rock, warmed in temperature and color by the unseasonably balmy winter sun.

Chimney Rock, warmed in temperature and color by the unseasonably balmy winter sun.

On our way back down Scotts Bluff, a great horned owl started its evening territorial hooting.

The sun sank, and turned the clouds to cotton candy hues, with a vibrant smudge of indigo at the horizon.

sunset

Just before the light died, several gunshots rang out in the valley – the last salvo in the 2014-2015 goose season.

On our way home, we passed several flocks of geese browsing in the cornfields beside the road.

“Safe!” I shouted, making a subdued spread-handed baseball umpire gesture in the confines of the car.

I was glad they survived the hunting season. And glad I had an opportunity to get out and hike on a lovely Sunday afternoon.

Copyright 2015 by Katie Bradshaw

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lorrie permalink
    February 10, 2015 5:44 am

    Katie, I’m glad you are writing again. I’ve missed you.

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      February 11, 2015 2:22 pm

      Thanks, Lorrie. I’m glad people enjoy what I do.

Leave a Reply

