Skip to content

Grace!

January 29, 2015

UPDATE: Alas, Grace closed its doors February 2016. Kelly is still doing private cupcake orders, though, I hear.

I was first introduced to Kelly Morten’s culinary ability at a farmers market. I could not leave a market without one of her cupcakes (Or three. Or five. I didn’t buy them in odd numbers – I’m referring to the ones that left the market.) They were always so pretty, and there was such lovely variety, it made my little sugar fiend heart happy. (See this blog post, which includes a picture of a plate of sweets. The cupcakes on the plate were from Kelly.)

Somehow, I managed to miss Kelly’s Kickstarter campaign this past summer. She has been dreaming for a long time about opening her own restaurant, and she got an opportunity to do just that – in an old bank building on 1st Avenue in downtown Scottsbluff. (If you cross the street behind the Midwest Theater, you’ll find it.)

The old bank building now sports benches outside and chairs inside in a variety of happy colors. grace is a reality!

graceIn keeping with my resolution to “go out to lunch with a friend every week,” I targeted grace for my most recent meeting, which was also an opportunity to keep another resolution at the same time: “go someplace new every month.”

As grace is still a very new and small restaurant, the menu is starting out small as well. There are breakfast options, and I remember a hot brown sandwich being on the menu.

The advice I heard was, “check out their Facebook page for their daily special, and go when the special is what you want.”

So, I ordered the special. Two of them, actually.

I tried a cup of the day’s chicken cordon bleu soup. I loved the texture of the ham and chicken in the soup, but I loved the flavor of the Swiss cheese most of all.

My main dish was a Thai crunch salad. How can your eye not be made happy with a colorful dish like this on a winter’s day?

thai saladThe flavor of the sweet-spicy chili-peanut dressing punched through my cold-dulled sense of taste. And, I got to eat with chopsticks! Fun!

I did not order dessert, as I was plenty filled up by the salad and soup. Also, a person I was with was doing a workplace-wellness-type challenge, so she was avoiding the dessert case. I am such a good friend, I did not want to tempt her. (That’s my story, anyway . . .)

Because there was a line of people in front of the bakery case, I did not get a picture of the goods in there. (Also, I’m a little rusty after my long hiatus from blogging.) So, I will borrow a picture posted today on grace’s Facebook page:

Raspberry vanilla and chocolate strawberry cupcakes . . . mmmm . . .

Raspberry vanilla and chocolate strawberry cupcakes . . . mmmm . . .

Bottom line – I’d recommend heading over to grace. Get some good food, support an entrepreneur’s dream.

Copyright 2015 by Katie Bradshaw

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Suemommy permalink
    January 30, 2015 4:41 am

    I wish we were there so we could go there for lunch today!

  2. Arlene permalink
    February 1, 2015 6:40 am

    I’m so happy to see you blogging again! I think I’ve read everything in the archives and the Wyobraska blog. You really make Scottsbluff sound wonderful.

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      February 1, 2015 8:48 am

      Thank you, Arlene. I’m glad you enjoy reading.

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      February 11, 2015 2:23 pm

      Thanks for letting me know you enjoy reading, Arlene. Sometimes it feels like I just send out my words into the ether and they disappear. 🙂

Leave a Reply

