Skip to content

Double rainbow!

October 1, 2014

Today was one of those lucky days.

I was working late, feeling soothed by the sound of a cold autumn rain, when out my office trailer window, I saw an orange glow.

I’ve seen the sky do some amazing things when the sun sets on a rain shower, so I headed out into the downpour.

This is what I saw to the west:

sunglow

And then, behind me, I noticed this:

rainbow legacy of the plains

And then I realized it was a full rainbow.

I whipped out my iPhone to take a panorama.

Here is what happens when I am excited and trying to take a picture in the rain and forget how the panorama feature works:

screwed up rainbow panorama

Guess what? That full rainbow went double on the ends!

double rainbowSomething interesting to note in that last image: it almost looks like there is a dark arc stretching across the sky between the light bands, doesn’t it?

Thanks to Bugman, I learned the phenomenon is known as Alexander’s Dark Band. (This totally got Alexander’s Ragtime Band stuck in my head.) Also, I made my first-ever post to the Spaceweather Realtime Image Gallery, at Bugman’s suggestion.

I love it when it rains in western Nebraska. Especially when I am free to go stand out in it and get drenched in its blessing.

Copyright 2014 by Katie Bradshaw

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

