Skip to content

Gering Merchants’ Santa’s Village

January 2, 2013

I had been meaning for some time to post about the Santa’s Village the Gering Merchants set up every year in the parking lot of the Gering Civic Center, but I’m not getting around to until jut now.

Better late than never, eh? And besides, my blog posts “have staying power,” as my year-end report from WordPress told me. In fact, the post I wrote in December 2011 about my attempt at making a gingerbread tipi suddenly got very popular in the last month and ended up as the fourth most popular post on SCB Citizen this year. So maybe this post will get lots of view next Christmas.

About the village: if I were a kid, I would love it because I would know by the diminutive size of the buildings that they were meant for me to explore.

The village has a schoolhouse

schoolhouse

And a church

church

And a business

gering merchants

Of course, Santa’s house is there, and Santa, too, on certain Saturdays.

santas house

And Santa’s elves distribute treats. (On this particular weekend, the “elves” were members of the Gering Fire Department.)

elves with treats

Santa runs a very orderly village. It has a police department. It’s my favorite building because of all the fun detail therein.

north pole police department

Frosty the Snowman was hired as the police chief.

chief frosty snowman

Frosty’s done a bang-up job. He brought into custody two of the biggest Christmas baddies, presumably before they had their turnarounds: the Grinch and the Abominable Snowman.

christmas baddies

So, if you have kids or are a kid at heart, head down to the Gering Civic Center on a December Saturday and check out the village. The volunteers are typically there from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Merry Christmas!

Copyright 2013 by Katie Bradshaw

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

