Skip to content

Local shopportunities

December 12, 2012

“Tis the season to go shopping, per our peculiar culture.

I’ll not get preachy about that, but rather get right to the point of this post: by stopping first at local businesses (or local museums’ gift shops – hint, hint) when you do your holiday shopping, you help to support the types of businesses that give our community variety, vibrancy, and personality.

Here are a couple of places I have been (or would like to go) shopping:

I stopped at Bee Haven Farm Roadside Market in Banner County once this summer on my way to Cheyenne, and also this past weekend during their Victorian Christmas event. If you are headed south from Scottsing on Highway 71, you will pass the turn for Harrisburg and the (now-closed) Hilltop Cafe. Take the left turn south of County Road 10, which is for the Bee Haven gravel drive – you can’t see the buildings from the highway, but you can see the signs (though the signs are most visible from the south).

open sign bee haven

This was the sign in the summer, obviously. No peaches, watermelon, or sweet corn in December!

What do they have at Bee Haven? Here are some things I purchased this past weekend:

Fudge, beef sticks, goat milk lotion, and propolis soap and lotion in a cute gift box.

Fudge, beef sticks, goat milk body butter, and propolis soap and lotion in a cute gift box. There were also local jams/jellies/preserves, some handmade scrubber thingamabobs

Here are some things I did not purchase, simply because I could not think of people to give them to (photo swiped from the Bee Haven Facebook page):

Handmade old-fashioned candy, candy canes and candy sticks (made in Denver, I believe). There were a couple of cute cut-glass antique dishes at the market filled with this old-fashioned candy. What a cute gift idea!

Handmade old-fashioned candy, candy canes and candy sticks (made in Denver, I believe). There were a couple of cute cut-glass antique dishes at the market filled with this old-fashioned candy. What a cute gift idea!

Next up, the Scottsbluff Winter Farmers Market. Waah! I have not been to a single market yet this season, and I will miss the market on the 15th, too. Boo hoo! Go to the market for me, would you? It’s at the TLC greenhouse on Avenue B in Scottsbluff, from 1-4 pm. There are handcrafted, homegrown goodies of all sorts at the winter farmers market, as well as a chance to do some good. Purchase hats/mittens/gloves and add them to the mitten tree at this week’s market, which benefits the Lakota Lutheran Center.

Since I have not yet been to the market this season, I have no pictures, so I will have to swipe one from Facebook again. How about a lovely photo of a cupcake, courtesy of Kelly Morten of Grace bakery:

Droooooool!

Droooooool!

If you have sweets, you need coffee, right?

I thought I had done a post on the Mark Ferrari roastery in Oshkosh that I could link to, but I guess not. In case you did not know, there is a coffee roastery in Oshkosh that turns out some divine coffee.

Another photo swiped from Facebook. Dag, am I getting lazy, or what?

Another photo swiped from Facebook. Dag, am I getting lazy, or what?

If you don’t want to drive all the way to Oshkosh for it, and don’t want to buy it online, you can go to the Cafe de Paris in downtown Scottsbluff (on the block north and east of Bluffs Bakery), where they stock it.

The cafe has food in addition to coffee. I shall have to stop by sometime and do a post just on this place.

The cafe has food in addition to coffee. I shall have to stop by sometime and do a post just on this place.

About 12 shopping days ’till Christmas . . . GO!

Copyright 2012 by Katie Bradshaw, except for the photos swiped from Facebook

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rick Myers permalink
    December 13, 2012 6:21 am

    Great post. Will check out farmers market for you as Colo trip not going to happen.

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Maggie permalink
    December 13, 2012 11:15 am

    I really love how there are these incredible, yet entirely unexpected, businesses out here in the panhandle. I’m looking forward to the Christmas market this Saturday, and also excited to learn that there’s a place that sells Mark Ferrari coffee here in town!

Leave a Reply

