Skip to content

Cheers, Dan Ramsey

December 7, 2012

I am two weeks short of my three-year anniversary as a resident of Scottsing. I am a part of this community, and it is a part of me. I have had the joy of making great friends here. I share laughs with them. And I share tears.

Earlier this week and especially this afternoon, I shed tears. My friend Sarah’s father, Dan Ramsey, died on Monday morning. His funeral was this afternoon.

I first recall meeting Dan when I was over at Victory Hill Farm (Sarah’s goat dairy and cheesemaking business) helping to make mozzarella. Right around that time, Dan started following this blog. Whenever I would see him after that, he would always comment on how much he liked my blog.

He grew up here, has deep family roots here, and appreciated my take on the unique joys and beauty of this region.

Dan, too, was able to express in writing the sublime nature of this little corner of the world we live in. In response to a blog post in which I asked readers to share a favorite summer memory for a chance to win concert tickets, Dan wrote this:

The night was clear and dark.
The lake was warm and near.
My mood was joyful and giddy
It was my birthday and I had no fear.
So in the water I carefully slid
Up to my ankles, my waist, and my neck
And when finally floating on my back
I noticed the twinkling specks.
The wonder of weightlessness,
The awesomeness of space,
The stars in all their glory
Were shining upon my face
“Never forget this” I told myself
As God’s glory struck my heart.
I floated there in shear silence
My thoughts scattered apart
Scared of the deep below
Terrified of the expanse above,
I realized how small I was
And how God really must be love.
Today I’m sure He showed this to me
To give me this thought
Of how He loves us all
And of what his Son has bought
So how can I describe it
This memory from long ago?
Impossible yet from this gift of faith
I know that I know what I know.

I like to think that Dan appreciated the sprinkle of humor in my blog, too.

I learned today at the funeral where Sarah got her wonderful, silly sense of humor. Dan was chock-a-block with jokes and fun. He was the kind of dad who taught his kids to suck Jello through a straw at the dinner table, simply for the fun of the gross sound it makes. I think my dad and Sarah’s dad would have gotten along famously.

If you’re still following my blog from afar, Dan, this photo’s for you – taken this afternoon at Flowers on Broadway, near the church where your funeral was held. Its silliness made me smile. I figured you might appreciate it.

Upside down snowman! Way to defy physics, Mr. Snowman!

Upside down snowman! Way to defy gravity, Mr. Snowman!

Cheers, Dan Ramsey. Godspeed.

Copyright 2012 by Katie Bradshaw

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Wanda Milton permalink
    December 9, 2012 10:54 am

    Very nice! Poignant send-off and thoughtful!

  2. Kathy Tando permalink
    December 9, 2012 12:54 pm

    Dang more tears! Thought I was pruned! Thank you for sharing another piece of our dear friend’s wisdom.

  3. Jane Moran permalink
    December 11, 2012 12:36 pm

    He was most wonderful brother anyone could have. I will miss him forever.

Leave a Reply

