Skip to content

Tailgate party time!

September 16, 2012

The weather has started to cool off (THANK! GOODNESS!!), and autumn is approaching (MY FAVORITE TIME OF YEAR!!!).

Which means, here in Nebraska, the state is gushing red. Football season, you see.

I’m not much of a football fan, but I will admit to enjoying some of the accoutrements of football season, like Superbowl and tailgate parties. I like parties!

Back when I was a study abroad advisor at Iowa State, I attended a tailgate party with some international students (cropped out of the photo for their privacy):

For the record, that is a cup of hot chocolate in my hand.

When Bugman and I moved to Illinois, we lived close enough to the U of I stadium that we could hear the roar of the crowd when the Illini scored, just a few seconds before we saw the score happen on TV. We had a few football parties at our house in conjunction with these games. (Can’t find any photos of those.)

But here in Scottsing, we are far from Lincoln and the Husker Memorial Stadium and its attendant tailgate parties.

Too bad, so sad. No tailgate parties for us.

BUT WAIT!

Let us not forget about the Gering Merchants Association!

Last year, the Gering Merchants hosted a tailgate party in the Gering Civic Center parking lot to help raise funds for downtown Christmas lights.

I volunteered at that event, and had a pretty good time (the Gering Merchants are a fun group of people).

Here are two of the pictures I took. (I did not get many good ones, since I was too busy helping.)

Hayrack rides around downtown Gering, courtesy of the Farm And Ranch Museum.

Tom Cozad “Mayor of Scabtown” preparing to launch a t-shirt into the crowd via a giant slingshot.

The first tailgate party was such a success, the Gering Merchants decided to repeat it. The second annual event will take place this coming Saturday, September 22.

I really want to go experience the fun again!!! Alas, I am not sure how much of the event I will be able to attend because the WNCC Fall Frolic race is the same day, and I will be helping with the setup and teardown at that event.

SO, I encourage YOU to go experience the tailgate fun in my stead. (After you run or walk the Fall Frolic, of course.)

There will again be hayrack rides around downtown Gering. There will again be t-shirts launched into the crowd.

Here are some of the other fun things going on Saturday in the Gering Civic Center parking lot, from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. (Note: the activities will require varying numbers of tickets, which cost $1 each, with proceeds going to the downtown Christmas light fund):

  • Decorated tailgate vehicles, with a prize for the best tailgate setup
  • Fervent Husker fans, with a prize for the best-dressed fan (I wonder if the best-dressed fan will be in the best tailgate setup? I totally have an awesome idea for best-dressed fan, but will be unable to implement. Contact me if you want my idea, and we can share the prize!)
  • Bean bag toss tournament and ladderball games
  • Potato and pumpkin decorating, face painting and football throw for the kiddos

There will also be stuff for sale, including:

  • The Meat Shoppe brat or burger meals (with chips and drink) for $4 in tickets. (Home-baked cookies will also be for sale.)
  • Mike’s Husker Stuff merchandise
  • Raffle tickets for Fabulous Prizes (including Husker Tickets!)

There will be rallying music played over loudspeakers, and tailgate attendees will, of course, be kept up-to-date on the Husker game as it kicks off at 1:30 p.m. (mountain time).

Sounds like a good time, eh?

May the Huskers make mashed potatoes out of Idaho State this weekend!

Copyright 2012 by Katie Bradshaw

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

