Skip to content

Dining adventure: the sushi love boat

August 22, 2012

On a sweltering day 14 year ago, Bugman and I said “I do.”

To celebrate, we went out for anniversary sushi. (What – you didn’t know the 14-year gift is sushi on the modern calendars?)

To go out for sushi in Scottsbluff, you go to Oriental House.

We wanted a dinner for two. There was an item on the menu that made me giggle a little and seemed oh-so-appropriate, so we ordered it: “sushi love boat.”

There was a constant stream of people in and out of the restaurant with 9 tables occupied and just one waiter (they are hiring!), so we cooled our heels and tried to find things to talk about other than work (that’s hard when you both work too much!).

Presently, we saw the waiter take down from the sushi counter what I had presumed to be a piece of the décor – a small wooden boat.

Wait . . . why would the waiter be adjusting the interior design of the restaurant when the place was so busy?

OHMYGOSH!

I burst out laughing.

IT’S THE SUSHI LOVE BOAT!!!!

Sushi (and sashimi) love boat! (Heh. My spellcheck tried to convert “sashimi” to “mishmash.”) Photo credit: Bugman

Feel free to sing along . . . the LOOOOOVVVEEE BOOOOAAAT!

I had no idea such a thing existed. So many adventures yet to be had in Scottsing!

Oriental House on Urbanspoon

Copyright 2012 by Katie Bradshaw

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2012 9:05 pm

    Happy anniversary to you and Bugman and congrats on 14 years! 🙂 And that’s cool beans that the sushi love boat was actually IN a boat.

    How was the sushi/sashimi? I’ve been too dubious of the quality of sushi-grade fish here to order any when I’ve been to Oriental House. I’m sure their fish is perfectly fine, I just can’t get my mind past the fact that this is western Nebraska, far away from any existing oceans nor erase the mental image of frozen salmon and tuna tramping across the western plains a la Woody Guthrie.

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      September 2, 2012 10:01 am

      I’m not much of a sushi connoisseur, as the only other place I’ve eaten “raw fish” is in Illinois (unless you count ceviche in Argentina). But the fish tasted good to me, with my customary liberal application of wasabi/soy paste. There was one of the varieties of fish I did not care for. Bugman ate it, though.

Leave a Reply

