Skip to content

Sugar Valley Rally sighting

June 2, 2012

Old cars aren’t my thing, and I don’t find looking at parked old cars particularly fun. Old cars puttering down the road, however, are a different story altogether.

There’s something about the anachronism of a well-restored antique vehicle cruising a modern road that I find absolutely delightful. Perhaps because it hearkens back to a slower time when face-to-face human connections were more common, I always want to wave to the car’s occupants.

As I went about my day this morning, I was tickled to encounter some of the Sugar Valley Rally participants as they headed out of Scottsbluff towards Hemingford.

In the rally, an antique car piloted by a driver and navigator is released at intervals to follow instructions to complete a set route in a specified time. The driver/navigator arriving at their destination closest to that specified time is the winner.

Rather than waving, I photographed the vehicles that passed me.

Have fun this weekend, rally people! *sends virtual wave*

Copyright 2012 by Katie Bradshaw

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2012 11:25 am

    You can tell it’s a fun time for the drivers and navigators!

  2. Katie Bradshaw permalink*
    June 3, 2012 7:52 pm

    Odd. When I view my main page, all the photos in this post disappear. No me gusta.

Leave a Reply

