Skip to content

That ain’t no bull

May 18, 2012

Nope. It’s a BABY LONGHORN!

So cute!

It’s calving season again at the Farm And Ranch Museum.

As I learned this week, the babies are actually half longhorn. Their mammas were bred to a Hereford bull.

Speaking of bull . . . or oxen, rather . . . pending not being knocked down by my second cold in a month (stoopid effects of stress on the immune system!), I plan to head over to FARM tomorrow for “oxen driving school”.

How cool is that??

Now, I am no farm girl, but I did work in a USDA dairy cattle research unit when I lived in Iowa. If I can work around Holsteins, I can work around oxen, right . . .?

If I don’t have to call in sick to “school,” you can count on a blog post about this little adventure!

(Too bad it means I have to miss out on the Wildcat Hills Wildlands Day events.)

UPDATE: Farm And Ranch Museum joined forces with the former North Platte Valley Museum to become Legacy of the Plains Museum at 2930 Old Oregon Trail in Gering. See the Legacy of the Plains Museum website for the most recent updates.

Copyright 2012 by Katie Bradshaw

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2012 10:53 pm

    How did it go?

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      May 22, 2012 9:08 pm

      Well! No tramplings or runaways! I’ll post as soon as I have time!

Trackbacks

  1. Newly learned skill: oxen driving « SCB Citizen

Leave a Reply

