Skip to content

Why I was almost late to a meeting this morning …

May 1, 2012

…traffic jam on my bike commute.

There was no place for the goose family to escape, with a steep bank on one side and a dropoff into Terry’s Lake on the other, so agitated mama and papa just kept nodding their heads to encourage their goslings to hurry along down the sidewalk.

I was not about to try to pass them.

I know what angry goose parents are capable of.

Plus, there was this immediately to my right:

Two more pairs of adult geese keeping pace with the little family, watching the situation with their beady birdie eyes.

Would make an interesting story, eh?

“I was waylaid on my way to work by the Canada goose brute squad . . .”

Copyright 2012 by Katie Bradshaw

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2012 9:37 am

    Smiles!

  2. May 2, 2012 4:18 pm

    I think the only angry bird I’ve seen that was more intimidating than an angry parent goose was the Trumpeter swan at the Tulsa Zoo that finally got fed up with the geese stealing his food. He grabbed an unlucky goose by the neck (through chain-link fence) and proceeded to whale on that goose with his wings while the poor goose squawked and squawked, trying to get away. The geese left the swan food alone for a while after that…

Leave a Reply

