Skip to content

The downside of living in Wyobraska

January 4, 2012

In my last post, I extolled the virtues of living in rural western Nebraska. I do love living here, but for me, there’s also a significant personal cost to this location.

I wrote that last post while sitting on a sofa about 1,000 miles away from home, where my dad lives in southeastern Illinois.

When I drive out there, I wish I had Wyoming plates on my car, so strangers would give me more credit for the distance I’ve traveled. My dad lives about as close to Kentucky as I do to Wyoming. My sisters in South Carolina are 7 hours closer.

“I’m not from Omaha,” I’d like to say. “See that “21” on my license number? That’s about as far from Omaha as you can get.” (See here if you don’t know about the Nebraska license plate prefix code.)

Harrisburg, Illinois, is so far away from Scottsbluff, Nebraska, it’s an alien environment. See?

As seen in a Harrisburg florist's window.

Being so far away from family is not nearly as big as deal as it was in immigrant/pioneer days. We have video-enabled cell phones these days, after all.

But when a family member is in fragile health, when you know he would benefit from having you by his side, that cell phone image just makes the distance that much more excruciating.

When people ask me if I like it here, I say, “Yes, but I wish I was closer to family.”

The glorious sunrise on the morning of my return was a bittersweet welcome home.

It was also followed by intensely gusting wind.

Sigh.

I managed to avoid all the intense Wyobraska wind around the first of the year but, I guess I couldn’t escape it for long. “Red sky at morning” and all that.

At least it waited to blow until after I’d arrived at work on my bicycle.

Copyright 2012 by Katie Bradshaw

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2012 9:42 pm

    Your emotions are felt here–

  2. Kathy Ruether permalink
    January 5, 2012 9:25 pm

    I feel the same about living out here. I wish I could just move the other side of the state a couple hours closer.

Leave a Reply

