Skip to content

Cold frosty morning

December 16, 2011

Once upon a time, I played the violin. I didn’t enjoy it much because I didn’t like the classical music we always played. Later in life, I appreciated my time spent with the violin when it allowed me to switch to the fiddle. (People may equate violin-playing with fiddling, but they’re really not the same.)

While my short fiddling career faded because I wasn’t connected enough to the music community to be motivated to put in the required practice time, I was introduced to a few beautifully mournful folk tunes that have become favorites of mine to pull out as the sun fades and the glory of fall slides into the gloom of winter. These songs remind me of a truth that seems counterintuitive in our modern society – that there can be beauty in sadness and death.

One of those songs come to mind this week when I awoke to find the grasses and trees covered in sparkling frost – cold that brings death can also make things incredibly beautiful.

Here is a view of the North Platte River valley I snapped as I headed east from Gering on Highway 92 towards Bridgeport for a business meeting:

And here is the song, as posted by a young man on YouTube: Cold Frosty Morning.

Wishing moments of peace and beauty to those of you facing pain and sadness.

Posted in honor of a friend, whose mother passed away this morning.

Copyright 2011 by Katie Bradshaw

 

 

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2011 8:31 am

    And the frost on Tues on the way to Alliance for the same meeting –tourism research–was also amazing–more especially because the frost was only on the South-East side of everything–except the flat places of course, with the rust colored weeds standing out to show off their contrasting colors!

  2. December 16, 2011 8:32 am

    Holding special thoughts for your friend’s mom!

  3. Rick Myers permalink
    December 16, 2011 8:50 am

    What an appropriate message to AJ and Jason. Tears and not much more to say than that.

  4. December 16, 2011 5:53 pm

    This is beautiful, Katie.

Leave a Reply

