Skip to content

Images from a journey – pretty, and pretty silly

December 6, 2011

For those of you disappointed at the lack of photos in my last post, I offer this, a view from the basement door of my mom’s house in the Twin Cities hinterland. (Minneapolis-St.Paul, not Scottsbluff-Gering.)

Hey! What are all those spindly things blocking the view? Deciduous trees, you say?

In addition to photographing pretty things, I like to photograph absurd things. My trip to Minnesota provided me with some material. I will share.

How would you caption this one? “When pine trees attack”? “Minnesota redneck Christmas tree”?

And, a tidbit from rural South Dakota, on 73/61 between Martin, SD, and Merriman, NE:

Two words: Pet. Cemetery. *shiver*

Copyright 2011 by Katie Bradshaw

4 Comments leave one →
  1. suzie busko permalink
    December 7, 2011 12:27 am

    Born Again Taxidermy- hahahahahahahahahahahahahLOLOLOLOLOLOL. I wanted to comment on the beautiful sunrise (sunset) from your mom’s porch, but I’m wiping tears from my eyes after the last pic! *sniff* *wipe*

    BTW, don’t you mean the TRI Cities (TriTown?): Scottsbluff, Gering & Terry Town? 🙂 Or maybe “Scottsing Town”?

    Gotta share the last pic on FB, my cousin will love it!

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink
      December 7, 2011 6:54 am

      Glad you enjoyed the taxidermy sign. I’ve been trying the last couple of times I drove past there to get a pic, and I finally did. Yay!

      Yes, I suppose you’re right on the tri-cities thing, though I’ve only heard the area referred to as twin cities. (Same thing with Champaign-Urbana, Illinois, twin cities that constantly exclude Savoy, a 1950s add-on contiguous to the Chambana border.

  2. December 7, 2011 7:57 am

    Wonderful sense of humor!

  3. December 7, 2011 8:58 am

    That taxidermy sign is hilarious ! Or else the start of a great western horror film…

    Usually on driving trips I’m the one driving and I have yet to teach my cat how to use a camera. But driving home for Christmas I’ll have my brother with me if any photographic signs appear. Your sunrise photo is beautiful with the tree silhouettes in front of the light.

Leave a comment