Skip to content

Tacos Mexico!

October 24, 2011

On Friday night, Bugman and I wanted to grab some dinner before catching a movie at the Midwest Theater. We didn’t want a huge dinner, since we planned to buy a tub of popcorn at the movie. October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month, so the theater is selling giant pink-ribbon tubs of popcorn to benefit Festival of Hope.

That's a lotta popcorn!

We planned to pop into our neighborhood restaurant, the Emporium, for a salad. Alas, the restaurant has gotten so popular, they are becoming reservation-only on the weekends. They offered to wait list us, but that wouldn’t work with our movie plans.

Rats! Now what?

The Woodshed? They don’t take credit cards, and I’m afraid we wouldn’t have enough cash for a sit-down meal plus the movie.

Runza? Ugh. Fast food again?

Wait! I wonder if that “new” taco shop my friend Billy keeps telling me about is open in the evenings. I haven’t posted a review of a Mexican restaurant in awhile. Let’s check it out!

We walked down to the corner of 3rd Avenue and East Overland and were greeted by a welcome sight at Tacos Mexico – warm light and an open sign!

The polite bilingual young man behind the counter told us that the most popular tacos of the half-dozen or so options are steak, pork chili and chicken. We decided to order one of each.

While we were waiting for our order, I sipped a made-in-Mexico Coke from a glass bottle and smiled at the cheesiness of the music videos playing on the TV attached high up in the corner of the sunshiny orange-yellow textured wall. I couldn’t understand most of the words, but the storyline of flirtatious young love was pretty obvious.

Our tacos arrived in short order, and we added toppings from the toppings bar, which included an onion/cilantro mix, red and green sauces and cucumber slices.

They took quite a lovely photo, no?

And – get this – each of those tacos cost just a buck! Bugman and I had a nice little meal for less than $10 and walked away ready for movie popcorn.

In case you’re wondering about the hours of operation at Tacos Mexico, I took a photo of their sign so I could remember. Rather than use up storage space with another photo, I’ll type out the info.

Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.; Sunday 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.; closed Tuesdays.

UPDATE 12/19/11: Bugman and I went to Tacos Mexico this evening, and the dollar tacos now cost a buck fifty. Still worth it, IMO.

Copyright 2011 by Katie Bradshaw

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2011 7:51 am

    I have been meaning to try that since Rick Myers told me about it this summer. It is on my TO DO list for next weekend. Thanks Katie!

  2. Shane Coop permalink
    October 24, 2011 8:20 am

    I’m glad you guys made your way over. It’s one of my favorite little haunts right now.

  3. October 24, 2011 10:36 am

    I like that place too!

  4. Kathy Ruether permalink
    October 30, 2011 12:22 am

    I love this place. I think my favorite is the barbacoa (sp?) tacos or burritos and I do like the lengua tacos too. John actually got me to try the lengua … which is tongue.

Leave a Reply

