Skip to content

Nope. Still not used to the view.

October 11, 2011

When I moved from Illinois to Scottsbluff in December 2009, the topography wowed me. I wondered if I would ever become blasé about the incredible view of Scotts Bluff.

Almost two years in, and the answer is . . . nope!

On my drive to work this morning, the sunrise was coloring everything pink-orange. I had my camera with me, so I pulled over by the lake in Terrytown to snap a pic. The wonderful color had faded by the time I got out of the car, but the view was still pretty enough to write home about.

I decided that, after work, I would hike up the bluff. I work just up the Oregon Trail from this National Monument, after all. Silly that I don’t go out there more often.

After I finished up one last task at the museum and locked the doors for the evening, I motored over to the monument and walked briskly up Summit Road to just past the third tunnel. There’s a nice vantage point west there.

Then I heard a familiar sound that I couldn’t quite place. A sort of guttural trilling. I finally tracked the sound to the sky high above me. Sandhill cranes!

I counted about 120 cranes in the flock.

The sun was getting to the point where shadows are fun.

Dinosaur! (aka Caterpillar equipment from the road construction project.)

Self portrait

I noticed that the sun was starting to catch on a few stray wisps of rain on the horizon.

As the rain moved eastwards towards me, the sky started to glow.

Then the heavens caught fire.

The bright rain bands shifted like an earthbound aurora borealis.

The light faded and I trotted back down the bluff.

As I came out of the last tunnel, I stopped short. Full moon!

Too bad the moon never looks as glorious in my photos as it does in person.

About the time I hit the parking lot, the weather front hit. Strong, gusty wind and blowing rain that sheeted on the road in front of my car. I’m sure the two dog-walkers I passed on the way up weren’t too happy. At least they had the tunnels to shelter in.

Wow. What a day.

I need to do that more often.

Copyright 2011 by Katie Bradshaw

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Bugs permalink
    October 11, 2011 9:24 pm

    Glad you finally caught some sandhills migrating! 🙂


    Bugman

  2. suemommy permalink
    October 12, 2011 5:43 am

    Beautiful! I wish I could have been there. I really appreciate your pictures, plus now I have the sound of sandhill cranes in my brain…..much better than a tv jingle.

  3. John Hood permalink
    October 12, 2011 6:56 am

    Awesome post. This truly is a beautiful place.

  4. October 12, 2011 7:07 pm

    Understandably so!

  5. October 15, 2011 12:42 pm

    I never get tired of seeing/hearing the cranes fly over…they have such a prehistoric call!

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      October 15, 2011 2:47 pm

      Heard several more flocks fly over today. They were lower this time, and I could see their colors.

  6. October 23, 2011 8:20 am

    Next time you decide to do something like this after work, please, please, please call or text me and I will join you, if you want the company! Now that fall and winter is here, I am more free to do things like this.

  7. October 6, 2014 6:58 am

    Love places like this…

Trackbacks

  1. Why I love Wyobraska: a 2011 photo retrospective « SCB Citizen

Leave a Reply

