Skip to content

Mushrooms . . . or zombie fingers?

October 2, 2011

Last Saturday I was walking into downtown Gering with my head down, held at a “just so” angle to keep my cowboy hat from blowing off

(I was headed to help with a Gering Merchants Nebraska-Wyoming tailgate party/fundraiser to replace the Christmas lights on the downtown buildings. I was wearing a Blackshirts shirt and the cowboy hat for balance. It was a fun event, but I can’t really blog about it because I was too busy helping to take pictures and check things out.)

As I was walking with this head-down posture, I noticed things on the ground.

Ants. Cigarette butts. Zombie fingers.

Zombie fingers?!??

I snapped to a halt and did a double-take at the landscaping mulch to my left.

Then I laughed and took a picture.

Aside from this spring when we got frequent rains, mushrooms aren’t very common in this dry high plains climate. This particular bit of landscaping must have been well watered, because there they were . . . mushrooms . . . poking out of the ground like fingers of the undead clawing out from the grave.

I have a rather active imagination. Halloween is coming up. Thus, the “zombie fingers” thought bubble you could have inserted over my head that day.

Come on . . . you can’t tell me that photo doesn’t look a little like zombie fingers . . .

Copyright 2011 by Katie Bradshaw

2 Comments leave one →
  1. suemommy permalink
    October 2, 2011 3:46 pm

    Oh my gosh! You are correct! …………they ARE ZOMBIE FINGERS! RUN!!!!!!!

  2. October 3, 2011 9:53 am

    You always make me smile!!!

Leave a Reply

