Skip to content

The big news

July 29, 2011

The press release went out late this afternoon. Here is the mug shot that went out with the press release:

I’ve been offered a new job.

In mid-August, I’m leaving the Star-Herald newspaper (with heavy heart – I will miss a lot of things about reporting) to become the Executive Director of the North Platte Valley Museum. (Gosh, Executive Director sounds so formal, especially when it’s capitalized. Maybe I can just go by “chief cat herder.”)

In case you missed it, the North Platte Valley Museum is a groovy little place. I blogged about it back in April 2010. Among its holdings, the museum has items that once belonged to Dr. Georgia Arbuckle Fix, whose story I just love. (Eeeeee!)

I am both excited and terrified (excitified?).

Excited because there will be lots of things for me to organize and lots of lists to make of tasks to accomplish (I am nerdy like that) and some amazing stories to become entangled in. Terrified because I know how much I don’t know, and I know how high the expectations are (both from the community and myself).

History is a really big deal around here (I wrote about that here), and I am humbled to have been entrusted with the management of these historical treasures. It’s going to be quite a ride.

I will be starting a new blog for the museum, of course. Any suggestions for a title?

I start August 22. Will you come visit me?

UPDATE: North Platte Valley Museum permanently closed in 2013 to join forces with the former Farm And Ranch Museum to become Legacy of the Plains Museum at 2930 Old Oregon Trail in Gering. See the Legacy of the Plains Museum website for the most recent updates. I stepped down from directing Legacy of the Plains Museum in late 2014.

Copyright 2011 by Katie Bradshaw

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2011 10:44 pm

    Congrats, Katie! We will definitely come visit you.

  2. July 29, 2011 11:37 pm

    Congratulations! This is the perfect job for you, Katie! How wonderful!

  3. Suemommy permalink
    July 30, 2011 6:01 am

    Three cheers for you and the North Platte Valley Museum!

  4. Heba Sadaka permalink
    July 30, 2011 8:20 am

    Congratulations Katie!!! I am so excited for you!

  5. July 30, 2011 8:50 am

    I was thrilled to see this on the front page! You will do a superb job on furthering Barb’s passion (now your passion) for the future of NPVM! YEAH!!!!!

  6. Carol Willis permalink
    July 30, 2011 10:32 am

    “Calling Your Bluff”

  7. Suzie permalink
    August 1, 2011 11:58 am

    Woo hoo! Congratulations! I’m sure you’ll bring all your mad skilz to bear! ! I am so there!

    BTW, love, love, love the sunset pix! Sorry my “thank you” is late– I’ve been gardening and I can’t stop!!!

  8. August 1, 2011 9:04 pm

    Hey, congrats! I haven’t yet made it to the NPVM, but I’m eager to learn more about my new home, especially the human history. Guess I’ll have to come by and check it out now.

Leave a Reply

