Skip to content

Five awesome things from this evening’s bluff hike

July 23, 2011

We had yet another out-of-town friend visiting today, so we hiked up the Scotts Bluff National Monument via the Saddle Rock Trail and down via Summit Road.

Here were five awesome things we saw.

1. A dragonfly atop virtually every single last-season yucca spire.

2. A wooly caterpillar on yucca.

3. A bird and his shadow.

4. The sunset.

5. PRAIRIE RATTLESNAKE!!!!!! I AM SO EXCITED!!!! I FINALLY SAW A RATTLESNAKE!!!!!

(For comparison, below is a bullsnake I saw last spring. They look nothing alike. Look at the viper head!)

We encountered the rattler on Summit Road on the way down. Our friend came within 3 feet of stepping on it when he stopped abruptly, pointed to the ground, and said “Oh.”

The little snake (little compared to the timber rattlers we’ve seen in southern Illinois) was about 2.5 feet long. His black, forked tongue flicked in and out a few times. As soon as I took his picture, he swung around 180 and slithered off into the grass. He didn’t even rattle.

Kinda cute, if you ask me.

Copyright 2011 by Katie Bradshaw

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2011 9:58 pm

    LIKE, LIKE, LIKE! Sweet photos!

  2. July 24, 2011 5:27 pm

    I love your observant sense of wonder!

  3. Curtis permalink
    August 3, 2011 1:30 pm

    I’m moving to Scottsbluff next week. Nice to see some local wildlife. I used to drive lonely desert roads in the Mojave in the evening looking for snakes with a friend who was a bit of a reptile fanatic. Even after hot days snakes were attracted to the heat coming off the blacktop at night. Anyhow, I thought I should post a reply after reading many of your entries about the area. You have given me a lot of ideas about places to explore. Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. Why I love Wyobraska: a 2011 photo retrospective « SCB Citizen
  2. Top 10 reasons to come to western Nebraska « SCB Citizen

Leave a Reply

