Skip to content

Longhorns! And babies, too!

June 22, 2011

Longhorn cattle are gorgeous, IMHO. I would not want to work in close quarters with them, but I am happy to stand back and admire them.

Especially the longhorns at the Farm And Ranch Museum.

Check out this beaut:

Oooo! She’s got an itch, and that pine tree is the perfect scratching post!

Other side!

Awww yeaaaaah!

What could be cuter than longhorn cattle?

BABY longhorn cattle!!

This little guy kept sniffing the breeze, trying to figure out what I was up to.

Then he went and found his momma to get a drink.

FARM puts their cattle to good use.

Out in front of the museum, oodles of odd old implements are scattered about. Rather than try to mow the grass around the implements, the cattle are allowed to chow down on it.

The bonus is, the calves get fun places to play peek-a-boo.

If you’ve never been to visit FARM, just down the street from Scotts Bluff National Monument, this weekend’s a good time, for two reasons.

Reason one: see photos above in all their longhorny cuteness.

Reason two: this weekend is the Oregon Trail Tractor Ride (9 am takeoff) , the dedication of the new blacksmith shop (2 pm) and a celebration of the “dutch hop” (3-4:30 pm). (I didn’t know what a dutch hop was. I had to look it up.)

Happy hopping!

UPDATE: Farm And Ranch Museum joined forces with the former North Platte Valley Museum to become Legacy of the Plains Museum at 2930 Old Oregon Trail in Gering. See the Legacy of the Plains Museum website for the most recent updates.

Copyright 2011 by Katie Bradshaw

3 Comments leave one →
  1. vnewman permalink
    June 22, 2011 7:25 am

    My goodness they are cute. Sounds like fun.

  2. June 22, 2011 9:00 am

    Dutch Hop is happy music!

  3. June 22, 2011 2:42 pm

    I didn’t know what a Dutch Hop was when I moved to Scottsbluff, either, but I got invited to a few while I lived out there. I had a friend who loved them, and she planned to have a two day Dutch Hop when she got married. I don’t know if that worked out for her, I think I heard later that she and her boyfriend eloped. Good times 🙂

Leave a Reply

