Skip to content

Sometimes I can be a little dense

June 21, 2011

For the full first 17 months I lived here in Scottsbluff, I thought this was a quirky sculpture of a giant philodendron in a fashionable planter.

Then I had the opportunity to meet someone at the Sugar Valley Federal Credit Union. “You know,” the person said when describing the place to me. “The building on twenty-first street. With the sugarbeet sculpture.”

It instantly dawned on me that my “philodendron” was, in fact, a sugarbeet.

Hey, gimme a break, man. I grew up in the land of cornandsoybeans. I bet lots of people from Illiwa (Ionois) wouldn’t know what it was, either.

Copyright 2011 by Katie Bradshaw

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2011 10:08 pm

    I totally agree with your first guess!!!

  2. shaun permalink
    June 22, 2011 5:07 am

    Lots of people from the valley had to be told what it was, too.

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      June 22, 2011 6:34 am

      Ah! So it’s not just me!

      • shaun permalink
        June 22, 2011 1:31 pm

        Nope. Even in a rural ag community those who’ve never been on a farm or ranch outnumber those who have by a wide margin. People can’t “know” without learning. Which is something we farmers and ranchers need to get better at — providing folks with an opportunity to see and learn about what we do…

  3. Rick Myers permalink
    June 22, 2011 7:42 am

    LOL. It’s quite an interesting piece of work when the nearby lot is filled with piles of sugar beets and the factory is chugging away in the background.

  4. June 22, 2011 8:52 am

    You’re forgiven!

  5. Dadshaw permalink
    June 22, 2011 11:13 am

    I’m with you Katie! corn & beans thats about it.I loved the cattle as well.

Leave a Reply

