Skip to content

Holy wow – windfarm!

April 20, 2011

I recently took a flight out of BFF (How I love that airport! Check-in and security is so easy and friendly!) to DIA.

It was the first time I’d flown out of Scottsbluff since I’d gotten to know the area. It was neat to look down at the landscape and know the places I was seeing. We flew past Beth and Nathan’s farm (hi, guys!) and Buffalo Creek Wildlife Management Area, which I’d just recently hiked. The terrain of Banner County passed under the plane. Then I spotted the seven wind turbines of the Kimball wind farm and a friend’s ranch (hi, Shaun!).

We continued south, and I suddenly remembered the wind farm someone had told me about, just across the state line in Colorado. If I could pick the Kimball turbines out of the landscape, surely I could spot the huge Colorado wind farm.

Oh, yes, I saw it!

I took a photo out the plane window. This was just a small piece of the landscape.

Wow.

I’m used to seeing large wind farms from my drives through Iowa, but I’d never seen one from the air before.

The number of turbines planted along the ridges was impressive. I started trying to count them but gave up. According to this article, the Cedar Creek I and II wind farms there in Weld County, Colorado, could have more than 400 turbines.

The white turbines in the sunrise-lit landscape made me think of a military cemetery. It looked rather dignified.

As I’ve mentioned before, Nebraska does not make the best use of its wind resources. Given all the talk about increasing energy prices and the controversy over the Keystone XL proposal to build a pipeline across the Ogallala Aquifer, I wish we’d develop some more wind energy. (Side note: a favorite political cartoon about wind energy.)

I started thinking about what it would look like if someone came in and planted wind turbines all over the Wildcat Hills.

You know, I’m not so sure I’d like the look of that.

Copyright 2011 by Katie Bradshaw 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2011 9:15 am

    NPPD is holding this up? I wonder why?

  2. vnewman permalink
    April 20, 2011 10:35 am

    Wyoming is also exploring its wind resources which I think is great. A little slow but nonetheless they are trying new things, that is a step. True wind turbines aren’t always the most plesant to look at and I wouldn’t want to live right next to a field of them but they do help offset the use of fossil fuels.

  3. May 24, 2011 3:37 pm

    This is some really great stuff you have on here. A lot to do with what is going on in the Panhandle.

    I signed up for your email list and it would be awesome if you checked out my companies website as well.

    NEPADD (www.nepadd.com) deals with grant administration and development in the Panhandle of Nebraska.

    Keep up the good work and I was also wondering if you know about the Western Nebraska Development Network through Ports to Plains? That is an excellent group to be a part of.

Leave a Reply

