Skip to content

Bounteous winter market this Saturday

February 17, 2011

Last market, I think I strained my arm carrying my haul.

Check it:

Eggs, three loaves of bread, two tiny cabbages, leeks, a-maz-ing whole wheat tortillas, dill chevre, soap, CHOCOLATE-DRIZZLED POUND CAKE!

About that chocolate-drizzled pound cake, which was purchased from a Bluffs Middle School fundraiser table: add fresh pinapple, and you have yourself a little slice of heaven.

OM-NOMMY!!!

Oh soooo goood!

There was also a massive table of colorful Valentine’s Day baked goodies, given that the last market was the week before V-day weekend. I did not want to get too close to that table. I had already purchased the pound cake, and I did not want to hoover up any more delectables.

Sarah Pinet of Victory Hill Farm added a festive touch to her chevre cheeses. She shaped them into hearts, adding a pine nut border to the dill version and cranberries to the plain version.

Awwwww . . . I *chevre* you!

I’m betting you’ll see some St. Patty’s day treats at the next two markets. (I hear there will at least be some festive cat and dog collars at this market.)

I got to test out some new products, too.

The heart-shaped thingy was a giveaway with soap purchases from Creative Bubbles last week. It’s a solid-form lotion, which is nice because if you keep plastic on one side of it, you can apply lotion to just the back of your hand and thus avoid lotion fingerprints all over everything.

The white tube was an experimental batch of vegan lip balm by Christina Armstrong of Beeloved Jam. It was caramel flavor. It went on real smooth. I half wanted to eat it. Christina said she was sending several flavors of her “Chack Lick” to the weekend market with the Creative Bubbles folks.

The jar contains blueberry jam. I don’t know if or when it will be on the market, so for now, you will just have to envy me as I slather the thick, dark, tangy-sweet stuff onto my homemade whole wheat waffles.

(Pound cake. Caramel. Blueberry jam. Waffles. Jeez! I sure am craving the sweet stuff today! Perhaps it’s a survival response to the high winds of late – 86 MPH at the top of Scotts Bluff today. If I weigh more, I won’t blow away, right?)

I’m sure the market this week will be chock full o’ goodies. There will also be an opportunity for people to send well-wishes to Miss America, and to donate funds to the Miss Nebraska organization (this market’s designated charity) that helped get Teresa Scanlan where she is today.

No, Ms. Scanlan will not be at the market herself, so you can’t greet her in person (I think she is about as highly scheduled as the President now). But, you can sign a ginormous (4-foot-by-6-foot) congratulations card, donated by Infinite Graphics.

Here's what the card will look like.

I’ve bumped into Ms. Scanlan a few times in my reporting duties, including at the wiener dog races at the Scotts Bluff County Fair. She was presiding over the event, you see. That kid’s a good sport.

Good on ya, Teresa.

Copyright 2011 by Katie Bradshaw

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2011 10:11 pm

    What a tremendous jovial spirit you have!

  2. Suzie permalink
    February 17, 2011 11:58 pm

    I learn so much from you– I’ve been spreading the word about the Farmer’s Market. The bread alone is worth the drive from Sidney. And the cheese. And the lotion bar. And all the other yummy stuff. Also made a trip to Lewellen last weekend– what a treat! I’ve passed your blog link on to many of my co-workers. Great job!

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      February 18, 2011 7:00 am

      So glad I’ve been of some help! 🙂
      The farmers market folks would sure be interested to know they’re pulling in people from Sidney!
      I’m headed to Lewellen again next week to cover some stories for the paper. Will definitely stop at my favorite coffee shop.

  3. February 18, 2011 7:21 pm

    Thanks for the plugs Katie! We are very excited to have folks from Sidney attending the market, thanks Suzie!! If you want company on the trip to Lewellen, let me know. I would love to get out of town on a frivolous jaunt especially if you are stopping at the coffee shop!

Leave a Reply

