Skip to content

A visit to the big city: Lincoln, Nebraska

February 12, 2011

GPS sometimes makes me laugh, like when it pronounces the capital of Nebraska.

Lynne-colon

I know Lincoln is quite a ways away from us here in the Panhandle (I categorized this as “things to do or see in surrounding states” for lack of a better category), but I think it fits within the scope of the blog. It’s our state capital, after all.

Yes, this is a much, much, much delayed post. I visited Lincoln back in September.

Here is what I enjoyed about the visit.

The University of Nebraska campus

I really, really miss living in a city with a big university campus. There are always so many interesting cultural events going on. I got a kick out of the sculptures surrounding the Sheldon Museum of Art on the downtown campus. Especially when there was a mohawk-haired instructor (a TA, I assume?) enlightening a small group of students about this or that artist. There were students camped out everywhere around the museum that day, sketching or doing homework.

Museums

Yes, we have some excellent museums here in the Panhandle, but it’s always great to be able to visit new ones. I was really impressed by the mammoth / elephant display in the State Museum. I had no idea there had been so many different permutations of the pachyderm kind.

I also laughed at some of the “donor stones” out in front of the museum. There was a stone praising God’s creation and one praising Darwin’s work right next to each other (not that I see a conflict with those two trains of thought, but I’m well aware that some people do). And then there was this one:

People are silly!

Of course, there was the whole Husker game experience on the UNL campus, too.

I really enjoyed Lincoln’s historic Haymarket district. (Look! Another downtown district with a website! Hint, hint, Scottsing.)

There was good shopping and, more importantly to me, good dining.

Small-batch ice cream at Ivanna Cone.

Did you know that dragons like ice cream?

Vegetarian options at Maggie’s.

I am not a vegetarian, but I like to eat at vegetarian restaurants because they tend to do such lovely things with veggies and herbs/spices and cheese.

Ohmygosh, I’m hungry! Gotta keep going on the food theme here.

I love trying international foods, so Lincoln was a gustatory playground for me compared to the Panhandle.

I enjoyed The Parthenon. I love Indian food, so of course we went to The Oven. And Thai food? The Blue Orchid rates an “uummm nummy!” even though they didn’t have papaya salad.

Such a classy place, that Blue Orchid!

Awlawlaw . . . salmon curry . . . drooling . . .

My one disappointment with Lincoln’s restaurant offerings was that the El Salvadoran restaurant listed in the phone book was closed. No pupusa fix for me since, what, 2007? 😦

Oh, and there were new brews to check out, too, that I haven’t seen on this end of the state.

We splurged on this very expensive, very wonderfully complex bottle of Black Betty.

OK . . . random silly picture . . .

I, Sir Putrescence, knight in aluminum armor, shall guard this dumpster with my life!

And then there’s the state capitol building, that towering cathedral of Art Deco scrumptiousness that shall get a post of its own.

Yes, Lincoln was fabulous to visit, but I’m not sure I would want to move there from here. There’s more crime and traffic in Lincoln, and so many places to eat and shop, it would quickly outstrip my household budget, I’m sure. I’d also miss the wide-open spaces, varied terrain and western ethos of the Panhandle. No place else like it.

Copyright 2011 by Katie Bradshaw

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2011 7:35 am

    Life, the Universe, and everything? I’ve never seen that one. Have to look for it next time I visit Lynne-colon. Here’s the allusion, though I’m sure you must have seen it instantly:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phrases_from_The_Hitchhiker's_Guide_to_the_Galaxy

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      February 12, 2011 1:25 pm

      Though I have a copy of “Hitchhiker’s Guide” on my bookshelf, I’ve not yet read it. I hung out with some folks in college who were big fans, and I did read a comic book version of it.

      • Tim permalink
        February 13, 2011 11:15 am

        Eek! You have not read the books? It does take a silly mindset. I admit to having read the trilogy at least a dozen times, and if someone approaches me with ‘I have a question’, ’42’ immediately pops into my brain. I have managed to suppress voicing it.

        It’s pretty cool to see it in stone. I’ve only been to Lincoln twice, and each time we did not stay long. The museum looks good.

      • February 15, 2011 6:06 am

        I’ve been trying for years to figure out if I should try to be more like Ford Fairlane or less like Ford Fairlane. It’s a hard and terribly unimportant decision.

  2. vnewman permalink
    February 12, 2011 7:47 am

    I never made it to Lincoln. Well, I drove through it on my way to Homestead National Monument of America.
    I have rarely explored much in eastern Nebraska. I tend to travel to large mountians or large lakes.
    If you get the chance check out:
    Homestead- http://www.nps.gov/home/index.htm
    and
    Fort Niobrara NWR – http://www.fws.gov/fortniobrara/

    Fort Niobrara has a lot to offer. Their website doesn’t do them justice.

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      February 12, 2011 1:26 pm

      Thanks, Val.

  3. February 13, 2011 6:08 pm

    Sounds like a line out of Wizard of Oz–“There’s no place like home.”

Trackbacks

  1. I am in love with the Nebraska capitol « SCB Citizen

Leave a Reply

