Skip to content

A little incentive for a new blogger

February 11, 2011
tags:

I started blogging over a year ago in part to keep myself busy, but also in part to document my new environs and to help describe to friends and family members left behind what life was like here in Wyobraska.

At first, I didn’t want to let anyone know about my blog. I didn’t think it was “good enough.” But I soon got over that. It’s a blog! There’s not supposed to be much substance to the posts!

Still, I’ve been surprised by the positive reaction I’ve gotten to my blog, especially from people who are native to this area. It seems that describing things through a newcomer’s eyes helps others to renew their perspective.

This evening, I bid adieu to another transplant to Scottsing who is crossing the border west to take another job. Many of you know her – very recently former Scotts Bluff National Monument Interpretive Park Ranger Valerie Newman.

Valerie is moving on to new opportunities at Bighorn Canyon National Recreation Area. She has also recently started a blog to document her experiences in her new environs. (Hm . . . sound familiar?) She was also reticent at a recent gathering to take the opportunity to let people know they could keep up with her new adventures on her blog.

Oh, Valerie, Valerie. [Shaking head.] That is not how you develop a readership that helps keep you motivated to keep writing.

This is how you do it.

HEY, EVERYBODY! MY BUDDY VAL HAS A NEAT BLOG ABOUT HER ADVENTURE OF MOVING FROM ONE NATIONAL PARK SERVICE POST TO ANOTHER. PLEASE CHECK IT OUT, AND READ REGULARLY IF YOU LIKE WHAT YOU SEE.

Here is her blog: vnewman.wordpress.com.

There! My parting gift to you, Valerie, is a little pressure to keep up the blogging habit. Hope it comes in handy. šŸ™‚

The project you have embarked upon is definitely worthwhile.

Happy trails!

Just a coupla WordPress gals.

Copyright 2011 by Katie Bradshaw

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. vnewman permalink
    February 12, 2011 7:41 am

    Thanks Katie! I’ll keep on a postin’.

  2. February 12, 2011 5:18 pm

    Let’s hear it for encouragement!

Leave a Reply

