Skip to content

My blog is popular because of Runza??

January 3, 2011

I got an email yesterday from WordPress about my “year in blogging.”

The stats helper monkeys at WordPress.com mulled over how this blog did in 2010, and here’s a high level summary of its overall blog health:

Healthy blog!

The Blog-Health-o-Meter™ reads Wow.

Very cute.

I think it refers to how often I post, and how often the blog is read and commented on. (Thank you, dear readers, for contributing to my blog’s health. It needs TLC kinda like a Giga Pet.)

Then they go on to talk about number of page views and number of blog posts.

Crunchy numbers

Featured image

A Boeing 747-400 passenger jet can hold 416 passengers. This blog was viewed about 12,000 times in 2010. That’s about 29 full 747s.

In 2010, there were 170 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 177 posts. There were 863 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 78mb. That’s about 2 pictures per day.

The busiest day of the year was April 5th with 319 views. The most popular post that day was Gering Bakery.

Yeah! I filled 29 747s, baby! (Question: why do they call it a 400-passenger jet if if can hold 416 passengers? Are there 16 crew members? Do the pilots’ seats count in the tally?)

Then they get to the top referring websites.

Where did they come from?

The top referring sites in 2010 were facebook.com, digg.com, urbanspoon.com, en.wordpress.com, and prairiebloom.com.

Facebook makes sense, since I post links there. Urbanspoon makes sense too, since I link to them whenever I talk about a restaurant. Digg, WordPress itself, not surprising. A shout out to Monique Larsen for being a top source of referrals via Prairiebloom.com. 🙂

Then comes the part that baffles me. The all-time top search engine term that brings people to my site is “Runza.”

Some visitors came searching, mostly for runza, scb citizen, runza sandwich, gering bakery, and katie bradshaw scottsbluff.

Really? Runza??

I don’t get it.

I wrote that post back in December 2009, and it’s still a top hit?

Oookaaay.

(Husband says I should sell Runza some ads on my site.)

Overall, it seems that my writing about restaurants is most popular, with Gering Bakery, Runza and Scotty’s making up the top three popular blog posts.

Attractions in 2010

These are the posts and pages that got the most views in 2010.

1

Gering Bakery April 2010
8 comments

2

Gettin’ my Runza on December 2009
1 comment

3

Scotty’s February 2010
1 comment

4

Monument Valley Pathway Guide March 2010
2 comments

5

Rural road driving, plus rain, equals difficulty June 2010
4 comments

Well, now I know what to write about if I want to keep traffic flowing to my site.

Anybody up for a cabbage burger?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Rick Myers permalink
    January 3, 2011 7:56 am

    Katie, you’re still apparently a “Runza rookie,” which is not a bad thing. Seems as though anybody returning to town for a visit (particularly my two children and their children) just can’t avoid a trip to Runza. Something about a bread pocket filled with ground beef, onions, cabbage and spices cannot be duplicated elsewhere. It must be a cult thing ;-), plus the local Runzas are probably the best operated, most clean and well staffed of local fast food establishments. They seem to hire the brightest and the best high school students and their owners work side by side with them. All in all, a pretty good place to bring guests. I bought lunch for a young Russian who was at Scotts Bluff National Monument working on a project. When he took his first bite he laughed and said it was just like his grandmother’s. Enough said.

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      January 3, 2011 7:58 pm

      Is it unpatriotic to say that I prefer Gering Bakery / Bluffs Bakery cabbage burgers to Runzas?

      I agree with your comment about the hiring. There’s one young man who works at the downtown Runza who makes me feel like I made an applause-worthy decision to eat there every time I go in.

      So funny about the Russian! Did you tell the Runza folks?

      • Rick Myers permalink
        July 12, 2011 11:44 am

        Yes I did. They even gave me a gift card as the young man’s photo was in the SH. Free pub!!!!

  2. Monique permalink
    January 3, 2011 11:32 am

    Hey Katie! Thanks for the shout out. 🙂

    Your blog deserves every bit of success. It’s a great resource and source of enjoyment. Looking forward to your adventures and posts in 2011!

  3. January 3, 2011 2:36 pm

    I am very proud of your time and efforts here! In all aspects of your life!

  4. Suemommy permalink
    January 4, 2011 5:17 am

    Well, now that I know they are tracking your comment stats I’ll have to speak up more often. I usually just enjoy in silence.

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      January 4, 2011 6:40 am

      Haha! You know what bloggers call that, don’t you? Lurking! 😀

  5. Dadshaw permalink
    January 5, 2011 6:10 pm

    Katie
    Vickimom and I read all of them. Although we seldom write to tell you ,I want to say keep up the good read. We enjoy them all.

    With love

  6. Chris Peña permalink
    July 11, 2011 4:54 pm

    The Runza has more influence than you think. Take a break and watch this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hbd3gLa1nYA
    to see why

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      July 11, 2011 11:40 pm

      Oh dear! Thanks for sharing, Chris.

Trackbacks

  1. Rebelling against a suggestion – a reason to finally make homemade cabbage burgers « SCB Citizen

Leave a Reply

