Skip to content

The other thing on my desk (thanks, WNAC)

December 8, 2010

I already posted photos of the sweet thing that’s on my desk for the Star-Herald decorating contest.

Anyone who knows me well knows I am not THAT sweet. My sweet tooth is tinged with a taste for the absurd.

I had to balance out that gingerbread church with something that reflects the other side of my personality.

Enter the West Nebraska Arts Center and a fellow fancier of the absurd, WNAC executive director Mason Burbach.

My desk holds my sweet creation and Mason’s absurd one.

Are you ready for this?

Goo . . .

Gooey . . .

Gooeymonsters!!!!

Yessireebob. Mason has done gone and created a Christmas tree out of gooeymonsters.

Isn’t it beautiful? (Sniff sniffle.) Nice touch with the yellow gooeymonster on top to stand in for the angel!

I have a soft spot in my heart for gooeymonsters. When I was a wee lass living in Beaumont, Texas, my pediatrician would give these things out to well-behaved kids. To see an entire tree made out of them was truly a joy to my child heart.

(As an aside, not everyone calls them gooeymonsters. The fun people over at Perpetual Kid call them finger monsters.)

In addition to the tree, Mason created some balls-o’-gooeymonster (there’s a picture on WNAC’s Facebook page). They look so strange, with all the eyes and arms mushed together like that.

I laughed heartily at the idea of using a gooeymonster ball as a holiday decoration in lieu of a ball of mistletoe. Hang it in a doorway, and instead of a kiss, you get a noogie. (I love that this word is in the dictionary).

I bought the gooeymonster tree at WNAC’s North Platte Valley Artist Guild Holiday Show and Sale, which is continuing through December 30 from 9-5 Tuesday through Friday and 1-5 on weekends.

Don’t worry if the gooeymonsters are not to your liking. There WILL BE something you like at the show! There is such an incredible variety of stuff.

For example, the art of Betty Irish of Alliance:

I enjoy her rural images and barnwood frames. Sorry, you can't have this one. I bought it at another art show.

Or Mary B. Hunt of Gering:

Mary's bold colors and coherent themes delight me. You can't have this one. Not the original, anyway. Husband and I bought this at another art show.

Think you can’t afford anything at the show? Wrong!

Sure, there are a few items that’ll set you back a cool several hundred. But there’s plenty within most people’s budgets.

Mary has reasonably-priced prints for sale at the show. There are greeting cards and ornaments by many different artists.

Here are two I bought for their insect theme:

There are also a few other silly items for sale, like the Pac-Man potholder I saw the time I visited.

I have only stopped by the show once, but I need to go back. As soon as an item sells, it’s replaced by something new.

What fun! What variety! Stop by and check it out! (106 E. 18th St. in Scottsbluff)

Copyright 2010 by Katie Bradshaw

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2010 10:31 pm

    The most variety and most purchase-able items ever seen!

  2. December 9, 2010 9:49 am

    Katie! Thank you so much. It’s a fun show, and yes, the monsters are what happens when I try to create “ornaments.” 😀

Trackbacks

  1. Artists I have met (WNAC Smoke and Mirrors show) « SCB Citizen

Leave a Reply

