Skip to content

Auction for gingerbread church

December 6, 2010

No, there isn’t an auction to benefit a gingerbread church. Rather, a gingerbread church is being auctioned to benefit the United Way.

Here’s the dealie-o:

I enjoy baking. I enjoy baking gingerbread structures. Normally, I would have people to help me eat the gingerbread structure, but husband and I are not going to see our families for Christmas this year, so no drooling nephews or cousins to help with the eating.

I baked gingerbread anyway, and figured it would look nice on my desk at work for the holiday desk decorating contest. I made a gingerbread country church, complete with maple-nut-and-Twizzler fencing to keep the gumdrop longhorn cattle out of the churchyard.

MOO!

Here’s the back of the church, with the big Life Saver “stained glass” windows:

Stick a light in through the hole in the cardboard base, and you get this:

Husband and I could not possibly eat the thing ourselves. I guess I never considered feeding it to my co-worker family (sorry, guys). I decided to do something “goody two-shoes” with it instead.

This gingerbread structure could be yours!

It will go to the highest bidder in a silent auction ending Dec. 14 at 10 a.m. The proceeds will benefit the United Way, which, like many charities this year, has fewer funds to work with.

To get in on the auction action, stop by the Star-Herald office (where the church is currently located) at 1405 Broadway or email me at work: katie.bradshaw AT starherald DOT com. I’ll post the top bid on the Star-Herald Facebook page wall at the end of each day.

UPDATE: I’ve been posting on the Star-Herald Facebook page wall. Because the settings for a business default to “Star-Herald only,” in order to see wall posts by anyone other than the main account owner, you have to click on “filters” under the “share” button and select “Just Others.”

As of this evening, the bidding stood at $15 25. Feel free to share this post with anyone in Scottsing who might be needing a foot-tall (maybe taller with the cross on the steeple) gingerbread church.

The entire church is edible, with the exception of the cardboard base and the toothpicks holding the cross up straight. It took me about 8 hours total to make, and about 8 bags of candy (which drew some comments from the guys behind me in the grocery store checkout line when they didn’t see much in my cart but candy and beer.)

Happy bidding, kiddies!

UPDATE: the gingerbread church, plus some angels I made with the extra dough, plus the extra candy raised $133.04 for the United Way.

Copyright 2010 by Katie Bradshaw

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2010 12:36 pm

    Patience and a propensity for detailed edible Gingerbread Churches! I’m impressed with all the time and effort and proud of you!

  2. December 9, 2010 7:15 am

    Impressive! How is the bidding going? I didn’t see any posts on the Star Herald Facebook page concerning this? Did I not look in the right place?

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      December 9, 2010 7:17 am

      Kathi, You have to change the filter options so you can see it on the SH wall. It defaults to SH only.

Trackbacks

  1. Gingerbread tipis – what to do with them? « SCB Citizen

Leave a Reply

