Skip to content

First farmers market in December

December 3, 2010

Woo! The market tomorrow (Dec. 4) seemed to come up fast! With only a week between markets, I probably shouldn’t have bought so much bread. (But there was so MUCH and it all looked so GOOD!)

Here was the haul last week, minus a bunch of lotion I forgot to include in the picture:

Leeks, cabbages, goat cheese (gouda and mozzarella), jam, a PIE PUMPLIN, and bread. Lots of bread.

I bought two loaves from Styria, and also two loaves from Mama Jane Sedman.

When they talk about “artisan bread,” they are referring to Mama Jane for sure. Her loaves of bread are works of art. Check out this pesto cheese bread:

Such a beeeyoooteeful swirl!

It wasn’t just those two bakeries with bread. There was so much more to be had! Including cinnamon rolls and cookies!

And there was a new flavor from Beeloved Jam: Nook and Cranny Berry cranberry sauce.

I suggested that name. Heehee.

I am sad that Beeloved Jam will be taking a hiatus after this next market until late spring. Guess it’s hard to find fresh fruits this time of year. Or maybe Christina just jammed her fingers one too many times and needs a break?

BUT Beeloved is not the only jam in the game (though I am partial). Nancy Butcher had quite the diverse selection of jams at the last market. Be sure to check out her wares.

I think I saw some elderberry jelly last week. I might have to get some for my dad. With the last name of Berry, and being obviously older than me, sometimes I just like to give him crap. 🙂

Oh, and I can’t go without saying something about that weirdo vegetable lurking in conelike elf-hat splendor behind the other farmers market haul: the Christmas tree cabbage.

That’s not what it’s actually called. I got it from Beth Corymb Everett, and she said it was some kind of German variety of cabbage, but I didn’t write it down, so the name is gone.

I call it Christmas tree cabbage.

I had an absurd urge to decorate it, but instead I cut it in half and cooked it up with some onion, pepper and garlic sausage. Ummm yummy!

I actually could only use half of it. That was a darned large cabbage. Rather pretty inside, too.

Aaaand on to the lotion, or rather, body butter, I failed to include in the market haul photo.

I am. In love. With Laura’s Herbal Apothecary Double L Goat Dairy body butter.

See? The jar I got myself at the first winter market is already getting down to the bottom:

I love this stuff so much, for a few reasons.

A #1 reason: it made the awful patches of dry skin on my face go away, which is something that four different types of lotion (including a medicated version) failed to do. This magic elixir may be slowly bringing the skin on my hands back from crack-and-bleed eczema hell (thank you, dry Scottsbluff climate), with the help of a Eucerin topcoat.

But that’s not all.

I love the little granules (of beeswax?) that melt on my skin. I love the interesting texture that the (coconut oil?) lotion leaves behind.

And I also love the peppermint scent.

The lotion itself looks rather buttery, and the peppermint smells so good, the lotion seems temptingly edible. (I have NOT tried this. Mainly because I did not see “sugar” in the ingredients.)

Even if I can’t eat it, it still gives me the sensation of biting into a York Peppermint Pattie.

In fact, I developed such a fixation, I had to go out a buy a package of York Peppermint Patties this week.

If you need me, I’ll be at the whole-world championship ski jump.

Oh, and I’ll be at the farmers market this weekend, too. Such appropriate timing! They are having a coat drive at this market. Just right to keep someone warm during those gale-force winter winds . . .

See you there!

Copyright 2010 by Katie Bradshaw

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2010 2:25 pm

    Fascinated by the cone shaped cabbage!

  2. Kathy Ruether permalink
    December 5, 2010 12:47 am

    You should have saved your cabbage for the desk decorating contest! 🙂 I’m sad that Mama Jane wasn’t at this week’s market because I wanted some pesto cheese bread after seeing your blog.

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      December 5, 2010 7:22 am

      Ha! I think the Christmas tree cabbage would have gotten stinky after a bit. Not the way to win the contest, probably. The gooey monster tree will have to dominate!
      I know how you feel about Mama Jane going missing. I wanted some more of her bread, too. :-/

Leave a Reply

