Skip to content

Yes, yes. I’m thankful. I truly am.

November 25, 2010

When the world around me is untidy, I tend to get grumpy. Since we’re still not settled in our home yet, and this will be our second Thanksgiving Day here, I’ve been grumpy a lot. Chaos is inimical to the mental health of those of us who are a touch obsessive.

Just yesterday, I was all bent out of shape by my inability to find a proper pie pumpkin at the local grocery stores.

But, as someone jabbed at me (cheers, Shane), I have a lot to be thankful for.

It seems such a clichĂ© to me, sometimes, the whole “it’s Thanksgiving, I’m so thankfulthankfulthankful.” It can slant towards the insincere, particularly in the context of BlackFridayshopshopshoponlyohmygoshtwentysomeshoppingdayslefttillChristmas!

Too hectic!

So, I have decided not to try to get anything accomplished today (other than this post). I’m using today as a day to reflect and be still and focus on healthy things, including those things for which I am thankful.

Like my sweet husband.

And my sweet cat.

I am thankful for my siblings.

Ugh, yes. The tall one is me, in my awkward phase.

And the fact that my parents are still with me.

I am thankful for my wonderful in-laws.

And for all the great people I have met here.

Representative sample from running group.

I am thankful for the hip establishments in this town.

The Midwest Theater is just one of many.

I am thankful for food.

Especially when it's prepared by my husband from fresh farmer's market ingredients: goat meat with tomato sauce, zucchini and leek, bread.

I am thankful for beer.

I am thankful for shelter.

I am thankful for the west Nebraska scenery.

I am thankful for the seasons.

WINTER

SPRING

SUMMER

FALL

In this dry country, I am thankful for rain.

I’m also thankful for rainbows.

I am thankful for wildflowers.

And for wildlife like adorable baby horned lizards.

I’m thankful when I’m able to pause at the beginning or end of the day to soak in the pageantry of the sun’s arrival in or departure from the sky.

I am also thankful that I figured out how to make my oven spit out a perfect pecan pie.

Happy Thanksgiving, y’all!

Copyright 2010 by Katie Bradshaw

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2010 9:55 am

    Great post, Katie. Superb pic of you and sibs — classic! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

  2. Suemommy permalink
    November 25, 2010 12:17 pm

    Among other thngs, I am thankful for my beautiful, intelligent, thoughtful, artistic, tallented, conscientious, playful daughter : )

  3. Shane permalink
    November 25, 2010 7:30 pm

    Cheers! Nice looking pie!

  4. November 26, 2010 1:34 pm

    Beautiful thoughts (including the beginning honesty) and photos! Thanks for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

