Skip to content

First good snow

November 12, 2010

The snow yesterday in the Panhandle was absolutely irresistible.

It fell thick, wet, and fluffy.

More than 4 inches fell, and it was a PERFECT medium for creativity.

I couldn’t help myself.

Sometimes, you just need to do something creative and trivial and fun instead of whatever else it is you’re supposed to be doing.

Strike while the snow is hot!

I now have guardians on either side of my front steps:

They were supposed to be lions, but they kinda turned out looking like kitty cats.

I was pleased to find that they were still in existence in the morning. I half expected them to have been destroyed by neighborhood hoodlums after my Halloween pumpkin episode.

Even better, the freezing fog coated their whiskers with hoarfrost.

Finally found a use for those messy leaf stems that fall from the locust trees in my yard -- they make perfect snow-feline whiskers!

The lion’s mane got frosted, too.

Some purty stuff out there this morning.

Rose grew some new thorns this morning.

My patio furniture was visually interesting this morning as well.

Winter, if you’re going to be this pretty and fun all season, you are most welcome!

Copyright 2010 by Katie Bradshaw

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2010 8:44 am

    Love it! Can you come to my house and sculpt some guardian chickens for my front walk?

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      November 12, 2010 2:28 pm

      Call me at the next good snow. I might consider it, in exchange for some eggs. šŸ˜‰

  2. November 12, 2010 11:52 am

    Superb lion guardians!
    Congrats!
    The photos are fantastic!

  3. Rick Myers permalink
    November 12, 2010 2:46 pm

    Didn’t know you were such a good photographer. Keep up the great work. Nice to see some artistic images and thoughtful posts.

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      November 12, 2010 5:53 pm

      I’m not really a photographer. I know nothing about F-stops or ISO settings. I just know where to point an automatic camera when I push the button.

  4. Monique permalink
    November 12, 2010 3:17 pm

    Those are adorable!

  5. Suemommy permalink
    November 12, 2010 4:04 pm

    I absolutely LOVE the lions (kitties)!!! The pictures are beautiful….you should make Christmas cards out of them.

Leave a Reply

