Skip to content

Whimper . . . winter’s coming . . .

September 10, 2010

Last weekend was Labor Day weekend. Lots of people went out and celebrated the traditional, if not meteorological, end of summer. The crowd at the farmer’s market seemed lighter than usual. Apparently several Scottsbluff farmer’s market vendors were busy, too. There were a few absences. I really missed my weekly cinnamon roll.

But what frightened me a bit was that I was reminded . . . summer’s ending . . . the market is supposed to run until . . . first frost? Whose first frost? That distinction seems a little variable in the Panhandle. I hope it refers to the frost in the Florida Keys. I don’t want the market to end!!!

I will miss my colorful, fresh fruits and vegetables. I will miss my delectable home-baked carbohydrates. I will miss my basil. I will miss getting out and talking to people.

I have to miss the market for the next TWO WEEKENDS! (Eeep!) I am afraid that I will come back, and the market will be closed.

So . . . what I am hoping for . . . is an idea I heard fomenting will come to fruition.

A winter market. Maybe once every other week. With jams and eggs and meats and winter-hardy veggies and baked goods and cheeses and honey and peanut butter and handmade items. Maybe in an otherwise unused downtown building? Maybe at the mall, to help draw traffic?

In the meantime, I fondly post my haul from last week as a reminder that there’s still lots of good stuff out there. Go get ’em!

Butternut squash, apples, plums, nectarines, broccoli, basil, onion, jam, bread, lollipops, goat cheese, hamburger, kohlrabi, soap, (not pictured: devoured cheese and bacon scones, chocolate croissants)

A couple of closeups and commentary.

You can stop and smell the flowers at the farmer’s market if you choose. Or, you can stop and smell the soap. I like to smell the Armstrong’s soap. I wonder when they will get tired of me stopping by their booth to olfactorily ogle their product.

So many varieties! So hard to choose! Especially since the fall scents are now available. I love fall. It’s my favorite season. Halloween candy. Spiced cider. Feeling warm and cozy inside, wrapped up in a fuzzy blanket before you’ve gotten sick of the cold.

Here are two scents I bought to send to my sisters in South Carolina for early Halloween presents:

I don’t think I have to worry about them seeing this. I don’t think  they read my blog. (Please reply if I’m wrong, my sistahs.)

I wish you could smell these soaps through your computer. The hocus pocus one, which is the stronger of the two at a distance, smells like a combination of patchouli and cola to me. The orange clove is powerful at close range, and it’s just about THE perfect distillation of fall for me. I’m going to have a hard time parting with it.

Actually, I bought these last week. Still haven’t sent them. Is it because I’m too busy to wrap them up and take them to the post office? Or is it because I just really don’t want to part with them?

And, on a final note, a picture for Sarah, who joked that she should make her labels bigger because they were too small to show up in the pictures:

Mmmm . . . it's gouda!

Copyright 2010 by Katie Bradshaw

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2010 6:59 pm

    Two whole weekends without–oh no!

  2. Shaun permalink
    September 11, 2010 7:52 pm

    Enjoying your posts, Katie, particularly the farmers’ market ones. We’re trying to do one in Kimball but not having much luck. Only a few vendors. Fewer customers. Today I sold two cukes, two tomatoes, and two onions. Must be doing something wrong.

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      September 12, 2010 9:59 pm

      Maybe you haven’t reached critical mass yet. I heard that last year the Scottsbluff market wasn’t so hot. This year, it was pretty awesome, IMHO, though it is tapering off substantially now. How many vendors at the Kimball market? When and where is it? I hear that Flower Field Farms is planning to be in Kimball next year. That should boost interest — awesome baked goods, plus varied produce.

      • Shaun permalink
        September 13, 2010 10:12 am

        I think you’re right regarding critical mass. Had only two vendors this week; the most we’ve had this year was four. I’ll have to visit the Bluffs market and see if I can pick up some ideas and tips for the future. Our market is at Third and Oak Streets in Kimball. Two blocks east of the stoplight. Runs from 8-noon every Saturday. If I can get enough people together we might enter a float in the Farmers’ Day parade again — last year’s entry won a prize and we sold a lot of produce right off the float.

  3. Shane Coop permalink
    September 14, 2010 8:44 am

    This looks like a good story suggestion for the Star Herald or to bring up at the next city council meeting. 🙂 Get the word out and get enough interest garnered. Good work!

Leave a Reply

