Skip to content

Wait, what season is it?

August 27, 2010

At the farmer’s market last week, I started to have flashbacks to spring.

First, there were the flowers.

Real ones from Beth Everett.

And the fun flowers decorating the breads at the Flower Field Farm stand.

A note to carb-seeking market shoppers: if the Colorado bakery bread is too big / expensive for you, check out the Flower Field Farms loaves. Lots of interesting varieties: roasted garlic and chive parmesean, cranberry and walnut whole wheat, blueberry and basil whole wheat, Guiness beer bread, raisin walnut whole wheat, honey oat whole wheat . . . plus muffins and my addiction: cinnamon rolls. I thought the flower tags on everything were a nice stroke of branding genius. They even had flower-shaped cookies!

Ok, back to my original thought thread . . . the season.

Sure, you can get flowers in the summer. But in addition to the flowers, I also saw this:

A vendor at the market is selling rabits.

This little bun-bun was SOOO CUTE I could hardly stand it!

Bunny close-up! Checking out my camera.

OK, so we’ve got flowers, we’ve got bunnies, and we have . . .

Colored eggs!

I bought some eggs from Country Chicken Girl, and the assortment absolutely tickled me! Beige, brown . . . yes, yes . . . even green I’ve seen before . . . but BLUE?!? I’ve never seen a naturally blue egg before. How cool!

Flowers + bunnies + colored eggs = Easter in August?

One more cool thing to share about the market last week. The vendor to the north – northwest of the Colorado bread guy has the most amazing onions! Can’t say I’ve gotten excited about onions much, but these are worth a backflip or two:

It almost looks like a perfect, glistening pomegranate!

Those onions are so crisp and flavorful and not overpowering at all. I’ve known of people who eat whole onions like they would eat apples. I’m not brave enough to try that, but if I were, I would try one of these onions. And the vendor pointed out that because he’s selling them on a per-unit basis, they work out cheaper than the per-pound Walmart ones.

The overall haul from last week:

I have to miss the market this week. There will be some basil left for you.

Copyright 2010 by Katie Bradshaw

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2010 11:56 am

    Sure appreciate your business and your blog! Thanks Katie! We’ll miss you this weekend.

  2. August 27, 2010 2:35 pm

    You could win the produce from the farmer’s market photo contest–great grouping!

Trackbacks

  1. Fall in the air, spice in the soup kettle.

Leave a Reply

