Skip to content

Overcoming prejudice

August 26, 2010

It’s funny how a move to a smaller community will change a person.

I’ve just undergone a radical change in thinking thanks to my new community.

I recently posted about the turnover of businesses in the area, and how the most convenient grocery store had closed, and how I wasn’t terribly satisfied with my shopping experience at the two grocery store options in the area, and how I was considering shopping at Walmart.

Well, I did it.

I broke through years of personal prejudice.

I shopped at Walmart, a store that I always loathed for its dreary big-box architecture plopped down on farmland and detrimental effect on mom-and-pop stores.

I was shocked by what I found.

Kimchi. Soyrizo. Sweet potato fries. Key limes. Bean sprouts. Fancy cheese. Falafel mix. Fresh bean sprouts. Kashi frozen meals. Firm tofu.

Weird stuff (well, weird for Middle America away from major cities) that you can’t find elsewhere.

The only thing I couldn’t find was no-salt-added tortilla chips.

Guess where I will likely be doing most of my grocery shopping.

Copyright 2010 by Katie Bradshaw

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Court Merrigan permalink
    August 26, 2010 10:44 am

    Plus it’s all cheaper, too. We drive over from Torrington, thus avoiding two local grocery stores, to thusly cash in at Wal-Mart.

    There’s no fighting this particular beast.

  2. Court Merrigan permalink
    August 26, 2010 10:47 am

    I should add, too, that we used to drive all the way to an southeast Asian grocery in Denver for real genuine Thai jasmine rice. No it’s unnecessary – because guess where has it? And for way cheaper.

  3. August 26, 2010 12:17 pm

    When enough people start requesting a certain item–they’ll order it!

Leave a Reply

