Skip to content

Farmer’s market, week the third

August 20, 2010

It’s not convenient for me to get to the Morrill and Gering farmer’s markets on Tuesday and Thursday evenings, so I’ve been sticking to the Scottsbluff market. I just like to mention the other markets because they’ve got good stuff, too.

Here’s the haul from last week. (Dang, that was heavy to walk home with. I blame the watermelon and the dozen ears of corn for my sore shoulder.)

Peaches, eggplant, zucchini, yellow squash, sweet corn, plums, carrots, BASIL!, watermelon, cantaloupe, cabbage, bread, rolls, cookies, (beef and goat milk mozzarella not pictured)

Part of the reason I bought so much was a need for a variety of colors of produce to illustrate a story I’m writing about farmer’s markets, diet and health.

I don’t know about you, but when I see the riot of fresh produce colors displayed so enticingly at the market, I usually buy more fruit and veg than I ordinarily would at the grocery store. Lotsa different colors means lotsa different vitamins, minerals and phytochemicals.

Yep, colorful foods are good for you. (No, Skittles don’t count.)

I just have to be disciplined to make sure I actually plan things out for meals so all that produce actually gets eaten while it’s still fresh. (That, or I need to figure out some preservation techniques.)

Don’t forget, the Scottsbluff market is tomorrow morning. Starts at 7 and goes to 11, but several of the vendors who are traveling longer distances to get here often arrive late, and vendors who sell out may leave early.

It may be the last week for sweet corn. The heat rushed the plants to maturity quickly. Tomatoes are beginning to come on strong. If you want basil, you’ve gotta get there early before I buy it all up.

No matter what time shoppers show up, there always seems to be a long line for the “bread guy” (though for the last two week, the “guy” has been a “gal”) from Styria Bakery in Frederick, CO.

Farmer's market breadline.

Just gotta have fresh bread to go with all the nummy jams and jellies and marmalades I’ve been buying.

If you don’t want to wait in line for bread, try the gal selling artisan bread at the Thursday Morrill market. Just get there EARLY (like, 3:01 p.m.) to guarantee best selection.

Happy shopping!

Copyright 2010 by Katie Bradshaw

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2010 1:00 pm

    This is something that is now–because of you–getting the kind of coverage it deserves!
    Thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. SCB Citizen on SCB Farmers’ Market
  2. Top 10 reasons to come to western Nebraska « SCB Citizen

Leave a Reply

