Skip to content

Banner County, 8:34 PM

July 6, 2010

Here’s another photo, closer to home, from Sunday evening.

I had no idea that a rainbow at sunset would still have all its colors. The photo doesn’t show it well, but the rainbow set against sunset-pinkened clouds was something else.

Here’s the other end of that full-arc rainbow, taken 11 minutes earlier and from a few miles to the south.

Too bad my camera couldn’t capture the whole sky.

I swear, I’ve seen about as many rainbows this spring in western Nebraska as I have in my whole life. I’m not sure if it’s because the horizons are clearer here or because the weather is so different.

Or perhaps it’s because the sky here is an entity onto itself that demands notice and I’m more likely to look to the heavens when I’m outside.

Copyright 2010 by Katie Bradshaw

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2010 11:05 am

    The latter certainly rings true–

  2. July 9, 2010 6:41 am

    Isn’t refraction great?

Leave a Reply

