Skip to content

The Plains Hotel

July 1, 2010

When we attended the Wyoming Brewers Festival, we stayed right across the street in the historic 1911 Plains Hotel (I linked directly to info about the history of the building because the main page has an annoying country song that plays when you visit).

I’d read other reviews that the rooms can be loud with traffic noise, so when I reserved a room, I requested a quieter one. I needed to be able to sleep. I had to get up eeeearleee the next morning because I had to work back in Scottsbluff.

We were assigned a street-facing room on the 4th floor. Motorcycles bbbbappping past in the street below were clearly audible. So much for the “quieter” room reservation.

We thought we might be able to put up with it until the Friday night summer band started to play in the plaza. I think the speakers were aimed directly at our window. Because of the air conditioning unit in the window, it was a though the window were open. It sounded like the band was playing in our room.

The staff behind the counter was very nice about the situation. They get those complaints a lot. The second, interior room we were assigned had no view and a queen bed instead of a king, but it was blissfully quiet.

Too bad they can’t soundproof the windows somehow because, other than that, The Plains is a great place to stay.

At the east entrance to the lobby, a mosaic of Arapaho Chief Little Shield graces the sidewalk. He frequented the hotel in its early years when he attended Frontier Days. Chief Little Shield posed for a a portrait, which hangs in the hotel lobby behind the registration desk.

I wish I’d remembered to get pictures of the lobby. The vintage tile is very cool. Don’t forget to look up. The skylight of the lobby is done in a stained glass solar system theme.

The hotel was cutting-edge modern when it was built. It included three elevators. I’m certain the elevator I took up to the fourth floor was in the original elevator shaft, if it wasn’t the original elevator. It was the tiniest elevator I’ve ever been in. Four people just fit, if they don’t have large luggage.

Back in 1911, the rooms all had telephones and private bathrooms, too, wonder of wonders.

I didn’t bother to take a picture of the room we stayed in. It was clean and modern-looking. It was a pretty standard room, save for two things.

One, the closet was ginormous. There are hotel rooms in Japan way smaller than that closet.

Two, the bathrooms were rather fun, with antique plumbing fixtures. I won’t say vintage because I’m guessing the fixtures have been replaced. Judging by the orange sink in our bathroom, it dates to the 1930s or 40s (before then, the only available color would have been white).

I’d definitely stay there again if I could be assured of a quiet interior room. It’s a fun place to stay.

And no, we didn’t hear any ghosts.

Copyright 2010 by Katie Bradshaw

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 1, 2010 5:07 pm

    Somebody must have hinted about the ghosts–

Leave a Reply

