Skip to content

Vedauwoo

June 29, 2010

First things first. It’s pronounced VEE-da-VOO. And supposedly it’s our slaughtered way of pronouncing an Arapaho word for the place.

When I announced for the first time that I was going there, I heard rave reviews from people. “It’s magical.” “An amazing place.”

I’d have to agree. It’s a great place to go for a hike. Some people rock climb there, but I’m not that adventurous.

Vedauwoo is within the Medicine Bow-Routt National Forest. As usual, the Forest Service website is less than helpful. Climbers have posted better information here.

The latter site contains a sound warning.

Storms of near bestial proportions are spawned in the SNOWY RANGE about 50 miles to the west and many times descend upon the valleys of Vedauwoo.  Should you decide to visit, you might want to check the weather prior to coming, especially in the spring or late fall.

The first time I visited Vedauwoo, I only was able to hike a short distance. The snow was hip-deep in places, and it was starting to snow again, while Cheyenne had bare ground. On my most recent visit, the weather was perfect. And I have approximately 10 million new wildflower pictures, for another post.

I will post some general Vedauwoo pictures here, but none of them do the place justice. You’ll just have to visit for yourself.

You know, that granite looks so smooth . . .

Appearances can be deceiving! Those rocks are sharp up close!

Such lovely textures!

Bye bye, Mr. Bill. Sorry we had to leave you, but the snow was picking up again.

Summertime!!

This rock made me think of a giant sucker arm.

So beautiful!

Nature's bonsai

Squirrel!

We saw a few Clark’s nutcrackers on that last visit. I also spotted a yellow-bellied marmot alongside the road on the way home. He seemed to be contemplating traffic. I hope he went back and didn’t commit suicide on I-80.

I suppose if there is a drawback to Vedauwoo, it’s that you can hear traffic from I-80 in some places in the park. It’s that close. But there are tons of areas I’ve not explored out there yet. I would love to go camping out there!!

Copyright 2010 by Katie Bradshaw

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Suzie permalink
    June 29, 2010 11:11 pm

    I love all the stuff I learn from you! 🙂

    P.S. Have you visited Ardmore, SD yet?

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      June 30, 2010 6:46 am

      I’ve not visited Ardmore yet. I almost drove there by accident once when I missed a turn, but I turned around because I didn’t know anything of interest existed there.

      • Suzie permalink
        June 30, 2010 12:26 pm

        Ardmore is a very cool ghost town. There are some residents, one family gets together every Labor Day. The town never had drinkable water. I happened to meet someone who grew up there and she said the water was too alkaline. You could water your garden but that’s about it. The railroad always brought the water in– I think they still do. Also, I made a wrong turn coming back from Toadstool. By the time we realized our mistake we were almost to Ardmore. The map showed an “unimproved” road in Ardmore that would get us back to the highway. What the heck…

        Never go down that road unless you have plenty of gas, water, and it’s a clear day. We saw a lot of wildlife and history. I’d love to see it through your investigative eyes!

Leave a Reply

