Skip to content

More wildflowers!

June 6, 2010

On Friday I attended a Nebraska Wildflower Week walk sponsored by the Kimball Community Arboretum. The walk was held on a shortgrass prairie ranch southwest of town.

Wow! What a great day!

Here are some more great wildflowers. If you enjoy wildflowers, get yourself outside, pronto!

The beauty pageant award of the day goes to white beardtongue, in the Penstemon family. These flower spikes were peeking up all over the place.

White beardtongue

Breadroot scurfpea

Lavender leaf primrose. I was confused by the word "lavender" in the name, as the flowers are bright yellow until they fade to orange.

I love how this milkvetch faded to blue.

Unknown yellow flower

I'm surprised I couldn't come up with an ID for these little orange beauties. They were everywhere.

Woo! Found me some bastard toadflax. If I'm reading things right, this is a parasitic plant.

Scarlet gaura - one of my favorites.

When I IDed this plant as a "sandwort", I was a bit disappointed. It's so beautiful, I expected it to have a more poetic name.

I enjoyed the long, slender stems of the greenthread, all turned towards the sun and nodding in the wind.

Showy evening primrose?

More musineon?

Miner's candle

Yucca's getting ready to bloom.

Even the grass (or was it a sedge?) was getting into the act, sending up tiny orange flowers.

Another tiny, beautiful flower. Most of this type were white, but this one had a bluish tinge.

Speaking of tiny, the wildflower-hunting group found several eastern short-horned lizards (AKA horny toads). I found this baby one. It doesn’t really belong in a post on wildflowers, but I had to include it. It was SOOOO CUTE!!!

young eastern short-horned lizard

Three cheers for the ranchers who manage their land in a way that benefits the ecosystem!!!

Copyright 2010 by Katie Bradshaw

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Monique permalink
    June 6, 2010 11:01 am

    Something else I didn’t know about that goes on around here. What a treat! Thanks for sharing!

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      June 6, 2010 4:16 pm

      This was only the second year they did this. I think next year we need to get a caravan together to head down there.

  2. June 6, 2010 1:10 pm

    What a spectacular education!

  3. Suzie permalink
    June 6, 2010 10:49 pm

    I love digital flower picking!

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      June 7, 2010 6:32 am

      Yes, they never fade! 🙂

  4. shaun permalink
    June 10, 2010 4:34 pm

    I believe the tiny orange ones are scarlet globemallow. Great pictures!

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      June 15, 2010 7:19 am

      I know you have scarlet globemallows out there. I saw some just about to bloom. But I don’t think that’s what is in the photo.

      I sent an email to UNL, and state botanist Bob Kaul IDed them as stiffstem flax
      http://www.wildflower.org/plants/result.php?id_plant=LIRI

      He also said the yellow flowers above them were a type of Lesquerella (bladderpod).

Trackbacks

  1. Wildflowers, part 3: the Vedauwoo edition « SCB Citizen
  2. A few pre-Black-Friday plugs « SCB Citizen

Leave a Reply

