Skip to content

Arrrgh . . . The Roost flies the coop

May 13, 2010

NoooOOOOOOooooo!

I found a cute little restaurant I like, and I just learned it’s about to close. So, I’ll post about it now, so y’all will know what you’ll be missing.

I discovered The Roost (3705 North 10th Street, Gering, set back to the west at Twin City Drive) while mapping out the Monument Valley Pathway. Someone mentioned that there has been a succession of businesses in that small building, and that they’ve all folded. Too prescient, unfortunately.

On first glance, I thought The Roost was some kind of greasy spoon dive, but it turned out to be a cute little coffee/snack/lunch shack.

There are a few stools and a counter inside, a few tables outside, and a drive-thru window.

There are extensive fresh-baked goodies, as well as fun treats like cheesecake on a stick or frozen banana on a stick (with or without nuts).

But I think my favorite part is their lunches. The selection is not extensive. I think there are four sandwiches to choose from, and you have a few options for the sides. But the best part is, it all comes packed with love in a brown bag, and it’s reasonably priced.

I got a lunch recently, a HUGE chicken salad sandwich wrapped in paper made to look like old newsprint, and it came with a side (I chose cole slaw), a bag of chips (I chose salt & vinegar), an apple, a pickle spear wrapped in a plastic bag, and a fun-sizef bag of M&Ms.

I felt like my mom had packed the lunch.

I was planning on stopping by The Roost often on summer excursions on the Monument Valley Pathway.

But . . . sniff . . . it’s not to be . . . sniff, sniffle.

Darn this crummy economy!!

Copyright 2010 by Katie Bradshaw

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2010 11:23 am

    Good that you posted this anyway!

  2. suemama permalink
    May 13, 2010 10:04 pm

    Hey, it DOES look like a lunch your mom would pack!

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      May 13, 2010 10:50 pm

      Yah! Except it doesn’t have cute little horse cartoon notes in it.

  3. Katelyn B. permalink
    May 19, 2010 5:26 pm

    This is my aunts place. I woked there the first year! I honestly must of gained 10 pounds while working there because the food was so amazing that on my breaks I would eat the goodies!!! It is truely a great place to eat and tons of love and care is put into making all the yummie stuff there. I’m very sad it’s closing and that I can’t work there this summer

    • Katie Bradshaw permalink*
      May 19, 2010 9:16 pm

      I’m very sad it’s closing, too!

  4. Barb Wachtel permalink
    May 23, 2010 9:07 pm

    This belonged to a friend of mine and I hate the fact that she had to close it down. She poured her heart and soul into that place for 2 years! I helped out once during a Christmas break and couldn’t believe how CLEAN that place was. You could eat off the floor. She is/was very particular about the care of everything and I’m so sad that it had to close. She will have people beating down her door to employ her, though because that’s the kind of person she is! The best at everything she does. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. The parade of businesses « SCB Citizen

Leave a Reply

