Skip to content

Black bird interlude

April 26, 2010

I like birds, and I enjoy watching them. Well, except when they’re pooing on my car or starring in Alfred Hitchcock movies.

I’ve had plenty of opportunities in the Scottsing area to observe birds. This post is about black birds in particular.

On dry days, it’s easy to attract grackles. Just turn on your UGS (underground sprinkler — more on this later), and POOF! your yard is full of common grackles looking for invertebrate goodies drawn out by the moisture. (Note: I don’t have a photo yet because it’s actually been RAINING here lately, so I can’t play the UGS trick.)

On a recent trip past Terry’s Lake, I noticed these guys:

These double-crested cormorants have picked the right lake. There must be plenty of fish, since someone pulled a 30-pound northern pike outta there. (Yowza! You won’t catch me swimming!) It’s the state record northern pike, set in 1997.

And I have the perfect window view of these guys coming to roost in my neighborhood every evening:

Yup. Those are turkey vultures. The late, golden sunlight reflecting off their wings was beautiful, but I didn’t quite catch it.

One of these evenings, I’ll turn on the sprinklers to call in the grackles and invite some human friends over to watch the vultures circle in for the night.

I like living in a place where I can watch birds.

Yep. This is the good life.

Copyright 2010 by Katie Bradshaw

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 9:26 am

    This is summer breeding ground for all of these winged-ones.

Leave a Reply

