Skip to content

ch-ch-ch-changes

April 23, 2010

For the first couple of months of this blog’s life, I had very little traffic, which makes sense because I didn’t tell anyone about it at first. I was a little unsure of what I was doing.

I just wanted to keep my unemployed self on a schedule, to give myself a reason to get out and see new things in my new community, and to update friends and family on what it’s like to live in the panhandle. And somewhere in the back of my mind, I figured it would help me become known in the community and maybe help me find a job.

Eventually, word started getting around about the blog. Below is a screen shot of my daily blog traffic.

The initial peak on 3/29 was when Darla Heggem of Twin Cities Development Association posted a couple of links to my tumbleweed post on Facebook. The huge spike on 4/5 was from Darla and the Gering Citizen posting Facebook links to my Gering Bakery post. And I’m beginning to get visits to my blog from random folks across the country, perhaps due to Suella Hanlon over at Hanlon House B&B having sent out my blog link to her email list.

My blog posts have been attracting an increasing number of comments, too. I love getting comments from people and learning their perspectives on the things I post about!

My writing also attracted the attention of the folks over at the local paper, the Star-Herald. After a couple of trial-run articles (here and here), I was offered a full-time gig as the Star-Herald’s newest reporter, starting today!

Which brings me to the point of this post: for those dedicated readers who look forward to a new post every weekday, my apologies. With a full-time job, I’ll no longer have the time to post every single day.

But I will continue to post!

Newspapers have a more formal format, and I will be forced to write in a different style. My blog will allow me to continue to use such informalities as “gaaa” and “blankety-blank” and “what the . . .” and to liberally dusting my writing with linkage.

Also, probably some things that interest me, a Wyobraska newcomer, won’t be newsy or new enough to be worth writing about in the paper. So, there will still be plenty for me to write about.

Until the next post, ciao!

Copyright 2010 by Katie Bradshaw

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Monique permalink
    April 23, 2010 5:21 pm

    Congratulations on your job! We’ll look forward to your reporting in the Star Herald.
    🙂

  2. Suemommy permalink
    April 23, 2010 9:47 pm

    Good luck Katie! I’m looking forward to reading your articles : )

  3. May 2, 2010 7:27 am

    Congrats! I’m way behind in reading my email, so I just read about your new job! You’ll have to show us some links to your work at the Star-Herald website!

Leave a Reply

