Skip to content

Downtown Littleton

March 22, 2010

When I was considering moving to Scottsbluff, a lot of people said “Scottsbluff is just a __-hour drive from [fill-in-the-blank city].” This made me suspicious. What, is Scottsbluff so boring that I’ll need to leave town on a frequent basis?

On the contrary, I’ve got lists of things to do and see and write about here in the panhandle. But, Scottsbluff doesn’t have everything (including the traffic!), so it’s fun to head to another city for a day trip, and come back home where the cost of living is lower, and probably so, too, is motorists’ blood pressure.

One of my recent trips was to Littleton, Colorado, just south of Denver. Specifically, Historic Downtown Littleton. (Hey, Scottsing — doesn’t downtown Littleton have a nice website? Hint, hint. And they have merchant directory signage posted around the downtown area. And online maps with parking indicated. Vary nahs.)

The drive south along the Front Range at daybreak was lovely . . . sunrise to the east . . .

. . . and mountains to the west. This was my first time seeing the morning sun reflecting off of mountains in person rather than in photographs, and my first time actually seeing “purple mountain majesties.” (Cue mental soundtrack: America the Beautiful.)

After doing some running around (literally — I ran a five-mile race), husband and I descended upon Cafe Terracotta right at lunchtime, amidst a gathering crew of baby-shower attendees clutching cutesy gifts. There was a little bit of a wait, so we popped into a bookstore next door that had an enticing display of books in the window and a fine selection of off-the-wall greeting cards.

We lounged for a bit on the cafe patio until our table was ready, and I admired the restored Victorian residence the restaurant is housed in. The food was great, as was the service (I got the feeling the staff actually enjoyed working there). I had a hard time deciding what to order. I settled for the fabulous caliente burger, but I jealously eyed husband’s fish tacos. Cafe Terracotta has an extensive beverage menu. I selected a little something from the “amber waves of grain” category.

We picked up some tandoori and vindaloo and balti spices at Penzey’s Spices (didn’t figure Scottsbluff’s Kitchen Company would have such exotic stuff). We popped into a French-themed shop for some coffee, which had a chattering, frilly little-girl tea party at a tiny table in the front and a collection of oo-la-la chocolate bars on the counter at the back.

Speaking of chocolate, here’s my ABSOLUTE FAVORITE PART of my visit to Littleton, and also the reason I’m glad I don’t live there: Lola’s Sugar Rush. Ohmygoodnessgracious!

Lemon drops remind me of my grandma. I wonder if she would have liked the sour apple and watermelon drops, too.

You want candy?

They got candy!

Upon entering the store, I was torn between wanting to browse/drool for an hour and wanting to run screaming from the temptation. How could I choose a rational amount rather than an armload??

Every imaginable gummi shape and every imaginable jelly bean flavor. Chocolates and hard candy and soft candy. Old-fashioned candy like Walnettos and Necco varieties (wafers and buttons and squirrel nut zippers). Saucy candy and silly candy and candy that looks like other kinds of food (gummy “fried eggs”, candied almond “olives”).

Yes, life is sweet in downtown Littleton. Make sure to visit the gym for a few hours before you go.

Copyright 2010 by Katie Bradshaw

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2010 1:00 pm

    Have I told you how much I love the way you write?

  2. March 24, 2010 2:04 pm

    Thank you so much for the kind words regarding our shoppe. I actually remember filling your bag of candy that reminded you of your grandma. Hope to see you again some time! Stay Sweet!

    Lola

Trackbacks

  1. Cheyenne, Wyoming « SCB Citizen
  2. Gering Bakery « SCB Citizen

Leave a Reply

